Fromper
|
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Can a spellcaster who can cast a spell that isn't normal for their class use magic items of that spell as if they were class spells? For instance, a cleric with a domain spell that isn't normally a cleric spell.
As an obvious example, could a cleric with the fire domain use a wand or scroll of fireball without having to make a UMD check, as if fireball was a cleric spell?
Common sense would dictate that they can, but I just want to double check.
| RumpinRufus |
Can a spellcaster who can cast a spell that isn't normal for their class use magic items of that spell as if they were class spells? For instance, a cleric with a domain spell that isn't normally a cleric spell.
As an obvious example, could a cleric with the fire domain use a wand or scroll of fireball without having to make a UMD check, as if fireball was a cleric spell?
Common sense would dictate that they can, but I just want to double check.
It depends - does the ability add the spell to their class' spell list?
A cleric cannot use scrolls or wands of domain spells that aren't on the cleric list without a check, because nothing in the domain ability adds the spells to the cleric spell list.
However, if you have an ability that adds spells to your spell list, like the Samsaran's Mystic Past Life, then you can use scrolls and wands as if they were on your class' spell list.
For spells that you know (and can prepare normally) but which aren't on your class list, like the witch's patron spells or an Ancient Lorekeeper's bonus spells, you can probably convince your GM that you should be able to use them from scrolls. The cleric domain spells are in a strange place - you can't prepare them as normal spells, so I would say that you don't really "know" them (rather they come from your deity), so you have to make a UMD check as normal to use them from scrolls.
Fromper
|
So apparently, this has been asked multiple times before, and I just missed it. There's even an official response from a Paizo designer.
No offense, RumpinRufus, but I'm kinda glad you're wrong. I was hoping to use this with a cleric carrying a wand of a domain spell.