Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Shifting / Quickened dimension door and full round casting


Rules Questions


Is it possible to cast a spell that has a casting time of “1 round” and still cast a quickened dimensions door (or use the shift power of the teleportation subschool) in the same round? E.G.: Can you summon a monster and shift / dimension door in the same round?


KaptainKrunch states it as legal in his guide on wizards (that can be ound here: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2nvk1&page=1?Core-Wizard-Guide-An-Expansion -to-Treantmonks. While I tend to agree I think it is not beyond doubt by any means.

My Thinking goes like this:
It is clearly legal to take a full-round action and a swift action in the same turn. However, a spell with a casting time of 1 round is not simply a full-round action. Under casting time it states: “A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed. […]When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the concentration from the current round to just before your turn in the next round (at least). If you lose concentration before the casting is complete, you lose the spell.”

The wording regarding swift actions an casting spells as a swift action goes like this: “A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn’t count against your normal limit of one spell per round. However, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a
spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity.” “A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally
be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.”

As it states that “you can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions I have no doubts that you can use a quickened spell while casting a full round spell.

However, dimension door ends your turn (same for shift, which refers to dimension door in that respect). The wording goes like this: “After using this spell, you can’t take any other actions until your next turn.” Therefore it is necessary to decide if dimension door does end the ongoing casting of the full-round spell.

I would say no, as you actually cast the full-round spell during your turn and just have to maintain concentration until the beginning of your next turn. I would not rule that concentration to be an (separate) action. While I know that concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action I do not think that this makes the “concentration part” of the casting of a full-round spell a separate action (that you would take outside your turn, when you clearly can not take any actions). Furthermore I think that the wording of dimension door should be read as “you can’t take any other new actions until your next turn “.


I agree with you, I would say the answer is no you can not cast a swift action spell while you are casting a 1 round cast time spell. But if you have the dimensional agility feat, you could cast dimension door as a swift action, then cast your 1 round cast time spell.


Sounds doable with dimensional agility.

BTW: Would you say that dimensional agility works with other abilities that state they work like dimension door? For example the conjuration (teleport) school power?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
Just V wrote:
Is it possible to cast a spell that has a casting time of “1 round” and still cast a quickened dimensions door (or use the shift power of the teleportation subschool) in the same round? E.G.: Can you summon a monster and shift / dimension door in the same round?

Unless you have the dimensional agility feats, it only works if dimension door is the last thing you do in that round.


Just V wrote:
Can you summon a monster and shift / dimension door in the same round?

Yes, if you mean the round after you began casting.

Casting Time: "When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the concentration from the current round to just before your turn in the next round (at least)."

Duration, Concentration: "You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one."

Round 1: Begin casting summon monster, full-round action.
Round 2: At the beginning of your turn, you finish casting, and the monster appears and acts. You then get your full round of actions, during which you could cast dimension door or whatever.

Silver Crusade

Just V wrote:
I would say no, as you actually cast the full-round spell during your turn and just have to maintain concentration until the beginning of your next turn. I would not rule that concentration to be an (separate) action. While I know that concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action I do not think that this makes the “concentration part” of the casting of a full-round spell a separate action (that you would take outside your turn, when you clearly can not take any actions). Furthermore I think that the wording of dimension door should be read as “you can’t take any other new actions until your next turn “.
Grick wrote:
Just V wrote:
Can you summon a monster and shift / dimension door in the same round?

Yes, if you mean the round after you began casting.

Casting Time: "When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the concentration from the current round to just before your turn in the next round (at least)."

Duration, Concentration: "You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one."

Round 1: Begin casting summon monster, full-round action.
Round 2: At the beginning of your turn, you finish casting, and the monster appears and acts. You then get your full round of actions, during which you could cast dimension door or whatever.

So ... looks like this question has been asked a bunch and never really answered (searched around, couldn't settle it), so I'll bring this thread back in case someone can point me to / explain to me a solid answer I've missed.

What about using Shift (Su) while casting a full-round spell? Using a supernatural ability isn't casting. The question is whether the restriction from dimension door that "after using this [ability], you can't take any other actions until your next turn" ruins your full-round cast.

It would make sense to me if it did, but (like many details, now that I'm trying to build a wizard!) it seems pretty unclear when you've stared at it long enough.

So hopefully a more veteran player / community member (I've only been playing for a few months) can help: can I use the Shift ability while in the middle of summoning?


I would rule same as Dimension Door, since it states that this is the power that Shift emulates. So, unless you have Dimensional Agility, you may not Shift and do anything else that turn. And you can't do anything else without disrupting a Summoning spell in any case.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Shifting / Quickened dimension door and full round casting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.