Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Blue Rose Cavalier Edict Question


Rules Questions


Flat of the Blade wrote:
At 2nd level, the cavalier of the order of the blue rose gains the ability to moderate his attacks in order to take an enemy alive. He no longer takes a –4 penalty when attacking with a lethal weapon to deal nonlethal damage. When dealing nonlethal damage, the cavalier receives a +2 bonus on damage rolls. When the cavalier makes use of this ability, he must attempt to subdue his target without killing it; dealing lethal damage after using this ability, or allowing his allies to kill the target, is considered a violation of his edicts.

Suppose I use this to deal nonlethal damage to an enemy, then an ally crits on that enemy, killing him. Am I in violation of my edicts?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Doesn't look like you are. I might be wrong here, but I'm pretty sure you didn't "allow" your ally to kill the target. It was more like an accident. That being said, you could probably still roleplay a little bit of guilt or anger or something along those lines.


Argh! I said we need to take him ALIVE, and then you stab him in the neck!

Thats like the seventh time today!


tennengar wrote:

Argh! I said we need to take him ALIVE, and then you stab him in the neck!

Thats like the seventh time today!

Which is why I'll be riding a spit-debuff-spamming camel rather than a horse. I'd rather not have my mount kill the guy I'm trying to save.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This leads me to ask, can you decline to roll confirmation on a critical?


Pharmalade wrote:
This leads me to ask, can you decline to roll confirmation on a critical?

Good question!

I would think, by RAW, "no" but the relevant text is...

Quote:
...you immediately make an attempt to “confirm” the critical hit...

Is it not the case that you can choose to fail anything you attempt, or is that a special rule only for saving throws?


Very good point :D

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Blue Rose Cavalier Edict Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.