Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Darkness+darkvision_Sneak Attack? Does it work?


Advice


Does that work? I'm looking at a dual weapon build with dual thrown weapons. I can channel variant energy (Darness/negative), use HiPS, and have darkvision.

Is this a good method? are there other things I should consider?
Will I actually get Sneak attack in this circumstance against creatures or no?


Darkness no longer creates an impenetrable globe of darkness... In pathfinder, it now lowers the lighting level a step. So, generally, you can still see in/through it. If it actually lowers the level of darkness enough for dark vision to kick in... Yeah, dark vision works in magical darkness now.


is there a source for that? Everything I've read says the contrary. And this would bring the lighting down to low light or darkness easily, do I maintain concealment if I have that?


Dustyboy wrote:
is there a source for that? Everything I've read says the contrary. And this would bring the lighting down to low light or darkness easily, do I maintain concealment if I have that?

The description for the darkness spell says exactly that.

Darkness:
This spell causes an object to radiate darkness out to a 20-foot radius. This darkness causes the illumination level in the area to drop one step, from bright light to normal light, from normal light to dim light, or from dim light to darkness. This spell has no effect in an area that is already dark. Creatures with light vulnerability or sensitivity take no penalties in normal light. All creatures gain concealment (20% miss chance) in dim light. All creatures gain total concealment (50% miss chance) in darkness. Creatures with darkvision can see in an area of dim light or darkness without penalty. Nonmagical sources of light, such as torches and lanterns, do not increase the light level in an area of darkness. Magical light sources only increase the light level in an area if they are of a higher spell level than darkness.

If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed.

This spell does not stack with itself. Darkness can be used to counter or dispel any light spell of equal or lower spell level.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/d/darkness

Shadow Lodge

Darkness wrote:
This spell causes an object to radiate darkness out to a 20-foot radius. This darkness causes the illumination level in the area to drop one step, from bright light to normal light, from normal light to dim light, or from dim light to darkness. This spell has no effect in an area that is already dark. Creatures with light vulnerability or sensitivity take no penalties in normal light. All creatures gain concealment (20% miss chance) in dim light. All creatures gain total concealment (50% miss chance) in darkness. Creatures with darkvision can see in an area of dim light or darkness without penalty.

So yes, you can see in darkness, even if it is produced by the spell Darkness.

However, you cannot see in "supernatural darkness" like that produced by Deeper Darkness:

Deeper Darkness wrote:
This spell functions as darkness, except that objects radiate darkness in a 60-foot radius and the light level is lowered by two steps. Bright light becomes dim light and normal light becomes darkness. Areas of dim light and darkness become supernaturally dark. This functions like darkness, but even creatures with darkvision cannot see within the spell's confines.

Repeat: Darkness and Deeper Darkness lower light levels one or two steps, respectively, from bright > normal > dim > dark > supernaturally dark (Deeper Darkness only), and Darkvision works in everything up to "supernaturally dark." If you have Darkvision and are in an area of Darkness (but not supernatural darkness) you can see normally, and if your opponent does not have Darkvision they are blinded and you can sneak attack.

See also: vision and light

Sczarni

Weirdo has it right. If your opponent cant see, you can, and you hit something that is sneak attack-able you do the sneak attack damage.


yes, in areas of darkness, if you have darkvision, you can sneak attack. in areas of dim light, you can attempt a stealth check (using all the normal stealth rules that apply) and if successful you can sneak attack.


Darkness: Heal—Creatures gain low-light vision until the end of your next turn. At cleric level 5, they gain darkvision 30 feet as well, increasing this range by 30 feet for every 5 cleric levels thereafter. Harm—The illumination level in the area drops by 1 step, as darkness, for 1 minute. At cleric level 10, the light level drops by 2 steps. At cleric level 15, it drops by 3 steps, and areas of dim light or darkness become supernaturally dark (even creatures with darkvision cannot see within it).

I'll have that...

Shadow Lodge

You'll have problems if you hit cleric level 15 when you start making supernatural darkness, but until then you're fine.


Keep in mind that the list of things that don't get darkvision is fairly short. About half of the standard races have darkvision, and a good chunk of the monster types get it by default. I wouldn't count on fighting things without darkvision as your primary shtick.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Darkness+darkvision_Sneak Attack? Does it work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.