Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Love subdomain - Adoration ability question


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

The Love subdomain of the Charm domain replaces the level 1 dazing touch power with adoration:

Quote:
Adoration (Su): As an immediate action, you can attempt to thwart a melee or ranged attack that targets you. This ability functions as sanctuary, but only against one individual attack. You must use the ability after the attack is declared but before the roll is made. The creature attacking you receives a Will save to negate this effect. If a creature has more than one attack, this ability only affects one of the attacks. You can use the ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier. This is a mind-affecting effect.

What's the DC of that Will save?


It says it functions as Sanctuary. So the DC will be 10+spell level(1) + modifier.

Andoran

"If a subdomain ability calls for a saving throw, the DC of the save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the character's cleric level + her Wisdom modifier."


Ssalarn wrote:

"If a subdomain ability calls for a saving throw, the DC of the save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the character's cleric level + her Wisdom modifier."

When the ability does not specifically call out that it functions as "insert spell here" you are absolutely correct!

In this case it functions as the spell Sanctuary.

Silver Crusade

I've got to agree with Ssalarn on this one. I missed that line at the start of the subdomain section, but now that I read it, I'd agree that it applies here. The Sanctuary reference just explains the effect of the ability, but this ability isn't a spell, so it shouldn't have a spell-level based DC for the save.

Andoran

Fromper wrote:

I've got to agree with Ssalarn on this one. I missed that line at the start of the subdomain section, but now that I read it, I'd agree that it applies here. The Sanctuary reference just explains the effect of the ability, but this ability isn't a spell, so it shouldn't have a spell-level based DC for the save.

Exactly this.


the DC is at the start of the subdomain page Sancutary is just explaining how the ability works not the DC.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Love subdomain - Adoration ability question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.