Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Succubus in a grapple.


Rules Questions

1,501 to 1,541 of 1,541 << first < prev | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | next > last >>
Sovereign Court

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Considering the nature of the Metaphysical conundrum we are discussing. It is best we exhaust all positions on the matter before reaching the climax of the debate.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm just glad to see this rising once again.

... it just keeps doing that...


4 people marked this as a favorite.

I read the title as "succubus in a grippli" and wondered why the Hell the grippli was pregnant with a succubus' baby, and if so HOW?!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Inlaa wrote:
I read the title as "succubus in a grippli" and wondered why the Hell the grippli was pregnant with a succubus' baby, and if so HOW?!

See book: Demons Revisited. The pages on Succubi have the details.

Just don't stare for too long.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

Oddly, in many copies, those pages are sealed.

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Don't you mean stuck shut?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

For those of you in this thread who are wondering if this stuff is actually relevant in game. The answer is yes. I inherited a Wrath of the Righteous campaign, and due to player backstories, I replaced one of the mythic fights to fit that player's backstory.

Long story short, the Paladin is now pinned by two mythic succubi bards, the Magus and Bard have been dominated and told to run away, the demon-hating Ranger has already been charmed to be friendly to the harem of succubi, and the Oracle has just gotten out of the cage trap she was teleported into.

The conclusions we went on, it's easy to hand-wave the 'act of passion' requirement when the target has the "pinned" condition. In other cases, it simply requires touch-range, and the act must be one that the target/PC considers to be passionate or intimate.

Lantern Lodge

3 people marked this as a favorite.

-and some stated that this thread would have no relevance!

Ha! The egg is on their face now, isn't it! *cocky pose*

Also, it warms my heart to see that this is still going, four years later.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

And going, and going, and going...


3 people marked this as a favorite.

At this point I don't remember if the original question was ever definitively answered.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Who cares? It is back again!


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Umbral Reaver wrote:
At this point I don't remember if the original question was ever definitively answered.

It was.

Many, many, many, many times.

Still needs answering, though. Soooooo much answering.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Tacticslion wrote:
Umbral Reaver wrote:
At this point I don't remember if the original question was ever definitively answered.

It was.

Many, many, many, many times.

Still needs answering, though. Soooooo much answering.

Preferably with rigorous application of the Scientific Method.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

I had a picture of one of us harassing a succubus: «come on, grapple me some more, grapple me, grapple me!»
And the succubus: «I'm tired, we've been here for 6 years, I have a headache, I am sleepy, go grapple a barbed devil instead. This is no longer fun.»
«Oh, come on! Grapple me!»


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Kileanna wrote:
I have a headache,

"But grappling is good for that sort of thing! :D"


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Can a succubus wearing masterwork manacles exercise acts of passion? Does this change if the victim is helpless?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Tacticslion wrote:
Kileanna wrote:
I have a headache,
"But grappling is good for that sort of thing! :D"

Are we going to discuss the benefits of grappling?


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Sissyl wrote:
Can a succubus wearing masterwork manacles exercise acts of passion? Does this change if the victim is helpless?

Yes.

Yes. ... but no.

Kileanna wrote:
Tacticslion wrote:
Kileanna wrote:
I have a headache,
"But grappling is good for that sort of thing! :D"
Are we going to discuss the benefits of grappling?

Yes. There are many!

(Note: physical and psychological...!)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber
Kileanna wrote:

I had a picture of one of us harassing a succubus: «come on, grapple me some more, grapple me, grapple me!»

And the succubus: «I'm tired, we've been here for 6 years, I have a headache, I am sleepy, go grapple a barbed devil instead. This is no longer fun.»
«Oh, come on! Grapple me!»

Not so funny story, that happened on one of our recent campaigns.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oh, that makes it even funnier.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

This thread is the most awesome thing I have ever read!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is art and randomness in its most pure state.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

If you carried a Darkskull keyed to Death Ward to avoid the energy drain, how/where would you secure the Darkskull to ensure it's not stripped from you in the grapple?

I'm envisioning a hollow skull worn as a codpiece, personally.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

What if - and bear with me, here - what if you tattooed the quotes-"dark skull"-close quotes on your body? Eh? Eeeeehhhhh...?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Oh, and, relevant to this thread, from here:

========================

icehawk333 wrote:
ShroudedInLight wrote:
AngryNerdRageDemon wrote:
ShroudedInLight wrote:

Since this has become a thread about Succubi...

Is there actually a way to gain immunity to the level drain from a Succubus to which a living PC has access? I've only ever found temporary solutions and all of them are rather expensive.

Hey! HEY!

You know where that sort of talk goes!

ಠ_ಠ

I do, but I'm also dead serious. I know Dhampir's can ignore level drain until it kills them, but is there a manner of gaining complete immunity to level drain?

20th level martial artist is immune to energy drain, off the top of my head.

Death ward gives 1/min a level immunity.
8th level soul wardens subtract 1 from all level drain effects, reducing a succubus's level drain to 0.
ShroudedInLight wrote:

Deathward is a Paladin spell...

Say, do you think a Redeemer Paladin would attempt to redeem a succubus? Asking for a friend.

========================

ShroudedInLight wrote:

I swore I was done. I'm no longer done.

So as a 13th level paladin, 4*13*2000 is 104,000 gold for a continious magic item that grants Deathward.

Which is only 74% of your total WBL, a leadership suggest for a 13th level character is a Criosphinx which is the same CR as a Succubus.

So I see nothing wrong with a 13th level Redeemer Paladin with permanent deathward and a Succubus cohort as his companion.

========================

Tim Statler wrote:
Tim Statler wrote:
ShroudedInLight wrote:

Since this has become a thread about Succubi...

Is there actually a way to gain immunity to the level drain from a Succubus to which a living PC has access? I've only ever found temporary solutions and all of them are rather expensive.

A Pharasman Souls Domain Cleric's 8th level power allows all within 30 feet of the cleric to ignore negative energy and level drain effects.

But only for their level in rounds.

Here is the info:

d20pfsrd.com wrote:


Ward Against Death (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura that wards against death for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. Living creatures in this area are immune to all death effects, energy drain, and effects that cause negative levels. This ward does not remove negative levels that a creature has already gained, but the negative levels have no effect while the creature is inside the warded area. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.

========================

W00t~!


2 people marked this as a favorite.

True adventurers seek out a Brijidine in a grapple for some extra hot lovin'.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I've always said it: Marilith in a grapple is the future.
Gylou in a grapple if you are into more... lawful... stuff.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
True adventurers seek out a Brijidine in a grapple for some extra hot lovin'.

Just make sure you use protection. Preferably high level protection from energy because that 6d6 fire damage in a "grapple" is brutal.

If you feel a burning sensation at any time during your "grapple" please see your party cleric immediately as this can be a sign of a life threatening condition.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Peris are an acceptable substitute if you like platinum blondes.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Also relevant:

ShroudedInLight wrote:

I realized I am equally bad at Math, the magic item would cost 72000, I forgot Paladin's had Caster level -4 for a moment.

If the Paladin chose to craft the non-chastity belt him/herself it would cost half of that.

ShroudedInLight wrote:

I mean, if you're gonna grapple a Succubus you gotta do it right. Awesome Blow, Quick Draw, Barrage of Style, Catch Off Guard, Choke Hold, Clinging Climber, Concentrated Splash, Drag Down, Grabbing Style, Hard Headed, Jaguar Pounce, Juggle Load, Let Them Come, Lunge, Mud In Your Eye, Natural Jouster, Open Up, Pin Down, Press to the Wall, Seize Advantage, Under and Over, and of course Vulpine Pounce.

The usual grappling feats >_>


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I told my players point-blank before a session, going forward, if they giggle, snicker, or otherwise make suggestive comments or innuendo concerning their characters current actions involving a succubus; it will count as an act of passion for their Energy Drain ability. It cuts down on the already excessive level of color commentary, as well as the pesky risk of alignment shifting. The Paladin tank already sees grappling succubi as a valid method of keeping them from attacking the party.

Sissyl wrote:
Can a succubus wearing masterwork manacles exercise acts of passion? Does this change if the victim is helpless?

As a bottom or submissive, no. The rules on their energy drain explicitly state "An unwilling victim must be grappled before the succubus can use this ability." If they are the Top or Dominant, they will require a Conductive weapon(whip, flail, flogger, etc) in order to use the drain without directly contacting the bottom/submissive.

As a 2-time GM of Wrath of the Righteous(a succubus-heavy campaign), I would rule a helpless victim will be a valid target for Energy Drain, as they would be unable to fight back, in the same way a succubus is required to grapple or pin the target.

ShroudedInLight wrote:

Deathward is a Paladin spell...

Say, do you think a Redeemer Paladin would attempt to redeem a succubus? Asking for a friend.

Yes, if the succubus has demonstrated the possibility of redemption. WotR has that as a major plot point in it, as well as the repeated occurrence of other potentially redeemable succubi.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

If the creature is willing, the manacles may just be part of the experience.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The spirit is weak, but the flesh is willing?

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

That's why you don't dump CON.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

It's also exactly why I DO dump WIS. Who needs a will when you can just go with the flow?

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

Perception so you can appreciate all the fine details and sounds.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

And a High INT so you can remember the encounter many years down the road.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
John Napier 698 wrote:
And a High INT so you can remember the encounter many years down the road.

INT only gets better with age


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Well, you do tend to get more HD with age, so... that means grapples would last longer, too!


4 people marked this as a favorite.

If a grapple last more than 4 hours, consult a high level cleric.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

If a grapple lasts more than 2 minutes, you've very impressive... power...!

1,501 to 1,541 of 1,541 << first < prev | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Succubus in a grapple. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.