Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

The Start of a Round? (AoO and You)


Rules Questions


Okay, quick question. When is the "Start of a Round" start officially? The issue is partly related to AoO. When do you regain the ability to make a new AoO after making one for the past round. Is it at the start of initiative order, or is it at the start of your next turn?

Sentack

Marathon Voter 2013, Marathon Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

AoOs and other such things typically refresh at the start of your next turn.


Can you tell me where in the rules it says that. I agree with your statement but I need to see where in the SRD it says that please.

Marathon Voter 2013, Marathon Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

lets see, well there is this:

PRD wrote:

The Combat Round

Each round represents 6 seconds in the game world; there are 10 rounds in a minute of combat. A round normally allows each character involved in a combat situation to act.

Each round's activity begins with the character with the highest initiative result and then proceeds in order. When a character's turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round's worth of actions. (For exceptions, see Attacks of Opportunity and Special Initiative Actions.)

When the rules refer to a “full round”, they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.

nothing more concrete than that that I could find on my (admittedly non-exhaustive) perusal of the PRD


Sadly the above text isn't concrete enough for me to work with. The interpretation you spoke of seems logical but it doesn't fly with everyone.

The problem with AoO's resetting at the start of the initiative counter, is that the first person in initiative, can never avoid provoking AoO's. Where as others after the first who does provoke, get the chance to take advantage of the situation for one round.

Where as, if AoO's reset only at the start of your next turn, then it's fair for everyone in the initiative order.

But, I need a ruling to state explicitly what way it works.


For the curious, I threw the question up on "Ask James Jacobs" And got the following response

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l7ns&page=530?Ask-James-Jacobs-ALL-your-Qu estions-Here#26494

In other words, it works like cwslyclgh mentioned. You regain the use of your AoO actions at the start of your next action, or in other words, at the start of your next turn unless I'm missing something. (I could still be wrong, I'm not 100% positive)


Sentack wrote:
Sadly the above text isn't concrete enough for me to work with. The interpretation you spoke of seems logical but it doesn't fly with everyone.

I'm sorry, why not? And who does it have to 'fly' with beyond the GM?

-James


james maissen wrote:
I'm sorry, why not? And who does it have to 'fly' with beyond the GM?

Well that's exactly who it didn't work well with. I needed something more than just "Because it's a reasonable assumption" when it comes making a case about something to the DM. Thus the text didn't work for me. Some DM's have vastly different opinions as to what something sounds reasonable about. Case in point, some DM's rule that gems and jewelry are sold at 50% because the rules about what's sold as "trade goods" doesn't list gems and jewelry, only metals and a few other textiles. Others claim gems and jewelry are obviously intended to be sold as a trade good. Hence, a clear answer other than "because it seems right" will have to do.

That being said, I got the answer I intended.


Sentack wrote:
james maissen wrote:
I'm sorry, why not? And who does it have to 'fly' with beyond the GM?
Well that's exactly who it didn't work well with.

Then you're in luck.. you've found out early that your GM is unreasonable, run away now and save yourself lots of grief. Easy.

Now there are interesting side effects to his 'rule' in losing the penalty for power attack, benefit for combat expertise, etc. Which I'm sure he doesn't agree also occur. But then none of this was meant to occur, that's why the core rules give the default for duration of a 'round'.

But if you are going to try to reason with someone that is not being reasonable, then the only real fool present is obvious to one and all.

Again, walk away from it and be happy to catch it earlier rather than later,

James

PS: The PRD is not just saying it is a 'reasonable assumption' rather it is the default case.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / The Start of a Round? (AoO and You) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.