Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Can a Magus use Arcane Pool to enhance an Amulet of Mighty Fists?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

i.e. if the Amulet of Mighty Fist counts as the weapon for many abilities (see my related question earlier) could a Magus enhance the enchantment of an Amulet of Mighty Fists with his arcane pool?

If not - what happens when the Magus enhances his unarmed strike with arcane pool (unclear if this counts towards every attacks or only one limb) and the magus also is wearing an Amulet of Mighty Fists that also enhances that unarmed strike.

- do the two enhancements stack? (like they would if using arcane pool on a normal weapon?)

- do they stack is not just raw bonuses - i.e. if the amulet of mighty fists grants some special ability?

- What happens if that special ability in turn uses the enhancement bonus of the weapon it is placed upon for effects? (i.e. grants that enhancement bonus to something other than just attacks and damage?


If we take a look at the Arcane Pool rules, It clearly states the following.

Arcane Pool:
At 1st level, a magus can expend 1 point from his arcane pool as a swift action to grant any weapon he is holding a +1 enhancement bonus for 1 minute. For every four levels beyond 1st, the weapon gains another +1 enhancement bonus, to a maximum of +5 at 17th level. These bonuses can be added to the weapon, stacking with existing weapon enhancement to a maximum of +5. Multiple uses of this ability do not stack with themselves.

I've bolded two passages that I feel are important to this question.

the first part relates to what classifies as a weapon you are holding? Can a magus use his arcane pool to boost his unarmed strikes / natural weapons? or can the magus only use his arcane pool to modify Manufactured weapons?

The second portion is more to the question you asked. Assuming the first part is answered positively (as in the magus can apply the arcane pool to unarmed strikes / natural attacks) then yes of course the magus can use the arcane pool to add an enhancement bonus to the natural weapons. However, It would only apply to one weapon, as the Arcane pool specifically states that it only affects one weapon. so one claw or one bite would be the only thing the arcane pool would affect.

However, i'm not terribly familiar with the arcane pool. I don't know if it can be used to modify unarmed attacks or natural attacks. however, if it can be used to modify those attacks, it's quite clear that you are able to stack the enhancement bonus with One natural attack.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm actually most curious about the case of a multiclassed monk/magus - i.e. where every limb counts as a weapon - this is where lots of things start to break down (though recent rulings have made things a bit clearer).

I agree with the intention - but hence my question about what stacks and how it stacks - I can see an argument that if the AoMF has just a basic enhancement bonus you may have a case of multipel enhancement bonuses not stacking bonuses - but that's why I'm unclear.


Again, it's fairly clear, if you read the arcane pool description.

It states it stacks with an enhancement bonus up to a max of +5.

you can also add certain abilities to a weapon. which don't stack if the weapon already has those enhancements.

but it only affects one weapon.

IE:

One kick, One punch or One headbutt.

Assuming the magus' Arcane Pool ability can be used to enhance unarmed attacks.

the Arcane pool also states that it affects a weapon that the magus is holding. I don't know about you, but I seldom hold my own hand. at least that's what I tell my therapist.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A few things:

First - I'm not trying to argue with you one way or the other - just trying to clarify a few things.

1. I think "holding" is meant in the normal sense of "ready for attack" (i.e. not sheathed. As a DM I'd consider a monk to always be "holding" his unarmed strike - in the exact same way he is always considered to be threatening for purposes of flanking (assuming he isn't flat footed).

2. I understand and agree with the point that the arcane pool enhances one attack. My point is that since you have TWO separate enhancements of that attack (i.e. the limb itself unlike a regular weapon isn't enhanced but rather is subject to an enhancement effect - i.e. from the amulet) that you could argue that the two enhancements might not stack.

(i.e. this monk / magus spending a point of arcane pool might be possible but might only result in having the same enhancement as he had prior to spending the pool (which kinda sucks so I don't like this interpretation but I think it is arguably correct or at least a reasonable interpretation of other rules re what stacks/doesn't stack when you have two bonuses of the same type.


probably a consequence of unarmed magus not coming up in the development process. If your Aomf consists of weapon properties only, then it should work, though its clear that you would have to modify one fist and flurry with it by itself.... which looks strange in my head.


Amulet of Mighty Fists:
This amulet grants an enhancement bonus of +1 to +5 on attack and damage rolls with unarmed attacks and natural weapons.

It's fairly clear that the amulet grants the +1-5 enhancement bonus to the items, in the same way that adding a +1-5 on a manufactured weapon does.

It would stack.

As for the holding issue.

If you're DMing, you can rule it either way you want, that's the beauty of GMing.

Personally as a player i'd have an issue with it. Not that i find it game breaking, because i don't think it is game breaking at all. But for the simple fact that "holding" and "ready for attack" are two completely different concepts.

There was a seperate thread that was talking about a Monk/Magus and whether or not the Arcane pool and the unarmed attack worked together, and the consensus was a little divided.

[url=http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2nxg8?Arcane-Pool-allow-me-to-Punch-Ghosts#1Arcane-Pool-allow-me-to-Punch-Ghosts[/url]

However the second post in that thread agrees with me that by the letter of the Arcane Pool rule, the effects can only be applied to weapons the magus is holding.

now again, i don't intend to be coming across as argumentative. But you've posted 4 threads asking fairly straightforward questions. so i'm trying to answer as clearly and concisely as possible.

using just text this can sometimes appear as argumentative.

The Exchange

now i kinda wanna play a Magus Monk...

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can a Magus use Arcane Pool to enhance an Amulet of Mighty Fists? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.