Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Stunning fist and grapple


Rules Questions


What action exactly is stunning fist?

say I have orc 1 grappled and susceed on a standard action then I have a free grapple has a move action due to greater grapple? when I decide to deal damage i have to roll can I use my stunning fist.

my main objective is to grapple and then pinning knock out where I do double non lethal damage. when I roll to damage during a grapple.

I guess what I am asking is when during the grapple can i use the stunning fist with out stunning pin.


You must declare you are using stunning fist before making an attack roll with unarmed strike.

Grappling is an attack roll, as are all combat maneuvers. While RAW you can't treat it as a weapon-based attack, it is an attack and a successful hit deals unarmed damage, so I think stunning fist should be applicable to it, as long as your grapples are doing unarmed damage (ie, not using the grapple check to go for a pin or something rather than laying in muay thai knees).


Thanks


StreamOfTheSky wrote:

You must declare you are using stunning fist before making an attack roll with unarmed strike.

Grappling is an attack roll, as are all combat maneuvers. While RAW you can't treat it as a weapon-based attack, it is an attack and a successful hit deals unarmed damage, so I think stunning fist should be applicable to it, as long as your grapples are doing unarmed damage (ie, not using the grapple check to go for a pin or something rather than laying in muay thai knees).

stunning fist, prd wrote:


Stunning Fist forces a foe damaged by your unarmed attack to make a Fortitude saving throw
combat section, prd wrote:


Unarmed Attacks: ....

So "unarmed attack" is an attack type (combat section prd) and stunning fist specifically requires this attack type.

Combat maneuvers have an attack roll but are of the type "combar maneuver" not "unarmed attack" therefore you cannot apply stunning fist to the grapple combat maneuver.

Lobolusk wrote:


say I have orc 1 grappled and susceed on a standard action then I have a free grapple has a move action due to greater grapple?

Greater Grapple lets you maintain a grapple as a move action (thus freeing your standard action).

If you start your turn grappling an foe you can maintain the grapple as a move action (Greater Grapple) and if you succeed pin him (Action for the successful maintaining of the Grapple) and the use your standard action to attack him (using stunning fist if you like) or tie him up which should be the better option in most cases.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

By RAW, you cannot apply stunning fist through a grapple as it is not an attack roll. However, I'd let you do it as applying a choke-hold or Vulcan neck-pinch etc.


Grapple is an attack roll. All combat maneuvers are attack rolls. The CM section specifically says this.

The issue is that grapple is not technically an unarmed attack, and thus strict RAW you cannot apply stunning fist to it, even though it a) is an attack and b) can be used to inflict unarmed damage.

I said "should be able to." It makes sense to allow it. By strict RAW, it does not, but strict RAW is silly as hell in many instances and this is one of them, IMO.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Stunning fist and grapple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.