Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Dual Wielding wands?


Pathfinder RPG General Discussion


Now, I'm not a new player by any means, but I have a serious question for the forums.

Dual Wielding wands? Is it possible? If so, what modifiers/penalties do you take?

The main reason why Im wondering is Im sadly the ONLY source of arcane magic in an upcoming campaign and I want to try and supplement my supply of spells to the UTMOST degree.

If dual wielding wands is not an option in addition to my regular casting (Im a sorcerer just for your information) We are starting out at first level and of course, the funds are not available for wands yet. But in a few levels im hoping to start building them.

Thank you very much for your input!

Corcus


Well, it sounds cool...

But activating a wand is a standard action. So unless you have a 9th level Pathfinder Chronicler buddy to use Inspire action on you, you are stuck to using one per round.

That being said, Staff-like Wand is cool. Too bad it is limited to wizard only, not to mention having craft staff as a prereq.


Could you possibly use Haste to use two?


Haste doesn't give you an additional Standard action, it only gives you an additional attack with a full attack at your highest bonus. So, it would give you another chance to land a touch attack, but that is about it.

If you want to get Improved Familiar and you have a good UMD score, that could be a way to get two off in a round, but some DM's frown on this, although it doesn't seem to be that powerful to me. Wands suffer from low DC's and caster levels.


Any advice on ways to augment my amount of spells?


Play two characters?


The DM is not allowing dual characters from one person.


If you're in a home game, you could ask your GM to adapt Dnd 3.5 feats.

Specificaly, Double Wand Wielder

Which does have
1) a feat tax of Craft Wand (useful) and two weapon fighting (not so much for a wizard)

2) Uses up 2 charges at a tiome on the second wand.

Otherwise, a familiar or cohort can use wands for you. I recommed the faerie dragon (it has 3 ranks of sorcerer)


You can hold a wand in each hand and use one or the other each round.
But you can't use both of them, the same as you can't cast two spells.

And no, before you ask, you can't Quicken metamagic a wand.

Spellcasters are build around the limitation of 1 spell per round, maximum 2 with Quicken. You'll just have to learn to live with that.

You can pick up Brew Potion I guess and brew the low level buff spells into potions, then give them out. Now everyone else has to use their own action to buff instead of you using 5 of yours.
Or be an Alchemist, Extracts work that way too - but guess you don't wanna do that.


Corcus wrote:

Now, I'm not a new player by any means, but I have a serious question for the forums.

Dual Wielding wands? Is it possible? If so, what modifiers/penalties do you take?

The main reason why Im wondering is Im sadly the ONLY source of arcane magic in an upcoming campaign and I want to try and supplement my supply of spells to the UTMOST degree.

If dual wielding wands is not an option in addition to my regular casting (Im a sorcerer just for your information) We are starting out at first level and of course, the funds are not available for wands yet. But in a few levels im hoping to start building them.

Thank you very much for your input!

Corcus

There is a feat for it in 3.5: Dual wand wielding. Second wand uses double the charges. But hey two spells/rd.


Awesome! Thanks for the advice guys! As for the alchemist idea, it is one that I had considered. But the minus of only hitting 6th level spells from a very limited list was a major issue with me being the only arcane source for the campaign, but I will definitely ask our DM about dual wand wielder!


my dm is allowing third party classes. i'm thinking about using one of hte spell casting Godlings it has:
Dual Casting (Su): You have so mastered your spellcasting powers that you can cast two spells at once, though you must divide your mystic power to do so. As a full-round action, you may cast two spells that each have a casting time of 1 standard action or less. Your caster level for both spells is halved. Both spells cast must have a spell level no greater than 1/4 your normal caster level. Source: Genius Guide to the Godling Ascendant
example(casting level 4)i'm able to cast two lvl 1 spells, with half caster level (2)... i couldn't fond ot so maby that doesn't excist, unless someone else has see it?

I've taken two levels of both ninja, and monk, later taking probably 8 or 9 levels of cleric.

i thought there was a trait or a feat that allowed a +4 to one type(divine or arcane) caster level up to maximum character lvl. ... i couldn't find it so maybe that doesn't exist, unless someone else has see it?

also isn't it possible to turn a move or stranded action in to swift action which would allow 3 quickened or 2 quicken and 1 standered spells in one round? even with out duel casting.


Corcus wrote:
Dual Wielding wands? Is it possible?

If your GM knows anything about Jim Dark Magic, he would make it possible!


If you're allowed 3rd party FEATS, there's this: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/3rd-party-feats/kobold-press/general-feats--- 3rd-party---kobold-press/two-wand-technique

I think it's too good, but ...


As for increasing your amount of spells, there are scrolls of spell knowledge that can increase your spells known.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Also look at Runestaffs from 3.5 Magic Item Compendium to expand your spell selection--

They are expensive but they come with 3-6 spells on each that you can use a spell slot of the same or higher to cast (twice a day apiece)

Still uses your own spell slots, but for a sorcerer effectively gives you more spells known, and for a wizard it let you default a prepared spell for those.

Edit: I also think the artificer in eberron got a lot of this type of stuff-- may have just gotten the feats as bonus feats, but it might be worth a read. (even though the main point of that class was to get the XP component free which is no longer an issue)


That older dual wand thing was remade in one of the 3rd party.(as mentioned above)
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/3rd-party-feats/kobold-press/general-feats--- 3rd-party---kobold-press/two-wand-technique
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/3rd-party-feats/kobold-press/general-feats--- 3rd-party---kobold-press/wand-casting
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/general-feats/wand-dancer

I couldn't find much more sadly. I looked up a lot of stuff before when I was trying to make Jarlaxle from Legend of Drizzt books

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / General Discussion / Dual Wielding wands? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.