Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Spite and Twilight Knife


Rules Questions


Would twilight knife trigger correctly when set to trigger from a Spite spell ?

Spite:
Choose a single touch range spell of 4th level or lower with a casting time of 1 standard action or less. As part of the action of casting spite, you cast the associated spell and bind it into a defensive ward in the form of a tattoo, birthmark, or wart somewhere upon your body. The next time you are hit by a melee attack or a combat maneuver is used successfully against you, the stored spell is triggered against your foe. You do not need to succeed on a touch attack to affect the target, but in all other respects the spell is treated as though you had cast it normally. If the attacking creature is not a valid target for the spell, the stored spell is lost with no effect.

You can have only one spite spell in effect at a time; if you cast this spell a second time, the previous spell effect ends.

Twilight Knife:
You create a darkly sinister floating knife that attacks the same creature as you each round. If you choose not to attack a creature, or you make an attack that affects multiple opponents, the knife makes no attack during that round.

The knife uses your base attack bonus modified by either your Intelligence or Charisma bonus (whichever is higher) when making this attack. Unless you specifically will it to do otherwise, or it proves impossible to do so, the knife always maneuvers itself so that it can flank your opponent before making the attack. The knife deals 1d4 points of force damage on a successful hit and has the same threat range and critical multipliers as a normal dagger. In addition, if the target is denied a Dexterity bonus to AC or the knife flanks the target, the knife can make sneak attacks as a rogue, inflicting an extra 1d6 points of force damage per four caster levels on a successful attack.

A twilight knife cannot be attacked or harmed by physical attacks, but dispel magic, disintegrate, a sphere of annihilation, or a rod of cancellation affects it. A twilight knife's AC against touch attacks is 12 (10 + size bonus for Tiny object) plus your Dexterity modifier.

If an attacked creature has spell resistance, you make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) against that spell resistance the first time the twilight knife strikes it. If the knife is successfully resisted, the spell is dispelled. If not, the weapon has its normal full effect on that creature for the duration of the spell.

Its the wording about the target of the spite needing to be a valid target for the triggered spell. twilight knife wouldn't exactly target your attacker. Although maybe that's not important as it dosen't say the spell needs to target the creature ?

Silver Crusade

Touch range.. Twilight Knife is not a touch range spell

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Spite and Twilight Knife All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.