Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game


Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Using the effect from a magic item as a feat prerequisite?

Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

If a magic item grants my an effect that is for all intents and purposes permanent, can it allow him to qualify for a feat he normally couldn't otherwise?

Specific example: My bard gets himself a Wayfinder slotted with an Opalescent White Pyramid Ioun Stone, giving him Weapon Focus (Light Crossbow). Could he, then, qualify to take Dazzling Display next time he gains a feat from levelling?

Grand Lodge

Yes, but he only benefits from the feat when he meets its prerequisite. If he takes the ioun stone out or walks into an antimagic field, he can no longer use Dazzling Display or any further choices that depend on that feat.

Liberty's Edge

All right, I figured as much but it seemed iffy. Thanks!

If you wrap the wayfinder in lead, is it immune to AMF?

Grand Lodge

Jaxtile wrote:
If you wrap the wayfinder in lead, is it immune to AMF?

Since the lead prohibits you from gaining any effects from the wayfinder, what does it matter?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Using the effect from a magic item as a feat prerequisite? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.