Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Mindchemist Alchemist-- Cognatogen Ability Damage


Rules Questions


I'm building a Mindchemist Alchemist, and I just noticed the wording under the Cognatogen discovery.

"When the effect of the cognatogen ends, the alchemist takes 2 points of ability damage to the ability score penalized by the cognatogen."

Does this still apply to mindchemists, as that is their predominant discovery? I.e. there is no ability damage for a base mutagen, why is there ability damage for a cognatogen? I suppose lesser resto gets rid of it, but feels like a waste of a second level spell. Especially, if melee party members need it more.

Base Alchemist, Mutagen Ability:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/alchemist#TOC-Mutagen-Su-

MindChemist:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/alchemist/archetypes/paizo---a lchemist-archetypes/mindchemist

Cognatogen Discovery:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/alchemist/discoveries/paizo--- alchemist-discoveries/cognatogen-su


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

yup - mindchemists get it - which is one of the severe drawbacks of cognatogens vs regular mutagens.

Remember that Alchemists can keep creating mutagens multiple times each day (or cognatogens) so this penalty is probably there for a game balance against continually having the cognatogen active. It is definitely a very real drawback. You will heal 1 point of damage (to each ability score damaged) for a day's rest - but yes this is a very real drawback for the adventuring mindchemist using cognatogens.

(and the cost of lesser restorations adds up quite quickly if using potions or a wand - and casting them requires using limited extract slots)


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

A potion of Lesser Restoration combined with Alchemical Allocation will make this a non-issue.

Qadira

blackbloodtroll wrote:
A potion of Lesser Restoration combined with Alchemical Allocation will make this a non-issue.

Alchemical Allocation is a second level extract that can be used on one potion. It saves you some money but costs you a LOT of extract slots so it's not as powerful as it looks. After all, lesser restoration is a second level alchemist extract as well.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I tend to have a few powerful potions/elixirs on hand, and utilize Alchemical Allocation to use them.

When I do so, I give that extract slot more options. This is why I would carry a potion of Lesser Restoration.


With the trait Accelerated Drinker, you can gain the benefit of two Lesser Restoration potions before Alchemical Allocation wears off. You just need to be carrying two Lesser Restoration potions around with you. (You can even potentially benefit from three with Vestigial Arm and/or Tentacle discoveries, or even four if you throw in that Mythic Trickster power to drink as a Swift.)

Qadira

Roberta Yang wrote:
With the trait Accelerated Drinker, you can gain the benefit of two Lesser Restoration potions before Alchemical Allocation wears off. You just need to be carrying two Lesser Restoration potions around with you. (You can even potentially benefit from three with Vestigial Arm and/or Tentacle discoveries, or even four if you throw in that Mythic Trickster power to drink as a Swift.)
PRD wrote:

Alchemical Allocation

School transmutation; Level alchemist 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components S
Range personal
Target you
Duration 1 round

This extract causes a pale aura to emanate from your mouth. If you consume a potion or elixir on the round following the consumption of this extract, you can spit it back into its container as a free action. You gain all the benefits of the potion or elixir, but it is not consumed. You can only gain the benefits of one potion or elixir in this way per use of this extract.

Sadly the duration doesn't matter, it only affects one potion.


Oops, I misread that line as "You can only gain the benefits of a potion or elixir in this way once per use of this extract" (i.e. no drinking the same potion twice, but you can drink two different potions). Nevermind, then.


If you have a Paladin in the party, brew some lesser restoration potions with his help. Pal gets it as a 1st level spell, so you can get the potions for only 50 gp each, and half that to create.


Rycaut wrote:

Remember that Alchemists can keep creating mutagens multiple times each day (or cognatogens) so this penalty is probably there for a game balance against continually having the cognatogen active.

i know i'm just complaining but this still doesn't make sense to me. i am pretty sure i could cause just as much grief with a constant bonus to Dex (or str or con) as i could with constant charisma or int.

i'd have to guess this particular discovery/archetype gets little to zero usage from this overreaching handicap.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Mindchemist Alchemist-- Cognatogen Ability Damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.