Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Questions on casting time and spell duration


Rules Questions


Let's start with a question on spell duration.

A conjuration specialist gets a duration bonus on his spells. Is this bonus multiplied when you use metamagic to extend duration or is the bonus applied after?

I've assumed that the duration is added before the multiplication, but you never know with these things...

Now for a question on casting time:

If a spell is cast with a casting time of one full round the effect kicks in before your next round. If you cast enlarge person (full round action to cast) on a character who, during his next round before casting time is over, leaves your range... What happens to the spell? Does it fail or does it take effect?

Similarily, and this occured last game, what happens in the following scenario:
1: Wizard cast enlarge person on Paladin
2: Paladin drops the weapon he's holding to draw another weapon
3: Wizard gets to act again and the spell effect kicks in
4: Paladin takes up the weapon he previously dropped from the ground

Is the weapon medium or large?

(yes I was miffed at the player for doing that, but the GM was generous and allowed him to keep the weapon large)


Ganryu wrote:
If a spell is cast with a casting time of one full round the effect kicks in before your next round. If you cast enlarge person (full round action to cast) on a character who, during his next round before casting time is over, leaves your range... What happens to the spell? Does it fail or does it take effect?

Casting Time: "A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed.

...
You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect."

Ganryu wrote:

what happens in the following scenario:

1: Wizard cast enlarge person on Paladin
2: Paladin drops the weapon he's holding to draw another weapon
3: Wizard gets to act again and the spell effect kicks in
4: Paladin takes up the weapon he previously dropped from the ground

Is the weapon medium or large?

1. Wizard begins casting enlarge person.

2. Paladin draws a weapon.
3. Wizard's turn begins, spell goes off, wizard chooses target (paladin) and spell effect is applied (he and his weapon get bigger).


The dropped weapon should be medium because it was not on the target of the spell and because of that was not enlarged.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Questions on casting time and spell duration All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.