Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game


Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Race Traits

Pathfinder Society® General Discussion


This is more of a general rules question, but I will be applying it to a character rolled up for Society and want to make sure it will work there as well as non-Society.

Characters get:

1 - Standard Racial Traits
2 - Alternate Racial Traits, which are optional and replace standard racial traits
3 - Two other traits chosen from the APG or various other resources.

The question: Can an alternate racial trait be used to replace one of the two other traits (from category 3) and you would keep the standard racial traits or do they have to replace standard racial traits?

Sovereign Court ***** Venture-Captain, West Virginia—Charleston aka Netopalis

As I read it, the alternate racial traits *must* replace the standard trait and cannot be picked up as one of the two additional traits. You also can't use a non-racial trait to replace a racial trait.

Liberty's Edge **** Venture-Agent, United Kingdom—England—Chester aka Paz

No. 'Racial traits' and 'traits' are, despite the similar names, completely different things.



Dark Archive **

Also, every alternate racial traits explicitly list which standard racial trait they replace.

Well, there might be exceptions, but I've never seen one.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Yeah, don't confuse "racial traits" with "race traits".

Dark Archive ***

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Legends Subscriber; Pathfinder PFS RPG Subscriber

this was extremely useful (racial v race)

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

Strangepork, thank you for actually searching for this question instead of making a new thread. These threads can tend to bug me, but it was a pleasant surprise to see it wasn't a new one. :)

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Indiana—Martinsville aka thaX

There is a difference between the Race abilities (Call traits in the race entry), and their alternatives in the Race book and other future products and the Racial Traits that are available as one of the two character traits that one can get.

Keep in mind, any Racial Trait gotten from the Adopted trait needs to be something other than Social trait. Almost all the Racial Traits also got categoried into the one of the four basic trait catagories in the various -Races- of Golorian books. My Tengu, for example, could not take the Etymologist Gnome Racial Trait because both it and Adopted are Social traits.

It's a sore spot for me.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Race Traits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.