Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

A question regarding the Boulderhead Mace


Rules Questions


Before I get into the question I have a couple of things to ask:
1. If this isn't the right place please move the thread;
2. I want to post the description of the Boulderhead Mace.

Ultimate Equipment describes the Boulderhead Mace as:

"The head of this +1 heavy mace is made from a single piece of
roughly spherical, polished granite. Once per day, the wielder
can command the mace to release this head, which grows to
the size of a Large boulder and rolls quickly in a direction the
wielder specifies. The boulder rolls in a straight line for up to
60 feet, crushing everything in its path for 3d8+5 points of
damage (Reflex DC 19 half). The boulder collapses into rubble
and dust at the end of its path or if it encounters an obstacle
it cannot break through or roll over, creating a 10-foot-square
area of difficult terrain. A new stone mace-head grows on the
weapon’s haft over the next 24 hours, and it is unusable as a
weapon until the head regrows."

Now a medium sized mace is described above. Let us for the sake of argument presume we have a Large Boulderhead Mace. As such the mace does 2d6 worth of damage.
1. But what does it do when the head detaches?
2. Does it gain another d8 to do 4d8+5?
3. Does the Reflex save change?
4. Where does the (+5) come from?
5. Does it change if the weapon size changes?

Sczarni

The damage of the weapon would change but the magical properties and abilities would remain the same.


Mainly I was curious about the Head of the mace that when it detaches for the original weapon it becomes a large size boulder. So when it would detach from a large size weapon does it become a huge size boulder? Taking this to a ridiculous level, does a Huge size weapon detach a Gargantuan size boulder? Or does the boulder always remain a large size regardless of the size of the weapon itself.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / A question regarding the Boulderhead Mace All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.