Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Magus Archmage, made to be together?


Player Feedback


Let's See

Mage Strike: insight bonus extra damage bypass DR and combine with spellstrike .... YES PLZ

Channel Power: +50% to spell damage, heightened shocking grasp I choose you :)

Competent Caster: no concentration check for spell below highest .. ARE YOU KIDDING ME :) feel the Magus Love

Endless Power: 13th level Magus = endless heightened shocking grasps...all day...every day ;)

Can you feel the love yet ?


Magus may get a lot of milage out of it, but don't think that the Archemage path isn't really nice for any Arcane spellcaster.


Phasics, I agree with your analysis, which is why my playtest magus is dual pathing Champion and Archmage. Being able to pick and choose between the two sets of path abilities seems ideal to me.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

Actually I was looking at Trickster as an option, myself. And don't forget how universal can season up any choice.


I wonder how perfect strike and spellstrike interact? Does the spell get doubled, since it would normally be doubled on a critical.


wait I missed the rules where you can dual path, you can do that or you're just making that up to play with the idea?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pendagast wrote:
wait I missed the rules where you can dual path, you can do that or you're just making that up to play with the idea?

There is a mythic feat called Dual Path on page 24.

Dual Path (Mythic)
You excel in many areas, allowing you to select path abilities from two mythic paths.
Prerequisite: 1st mythic tier.
Benefit: Select a mythic path, other than the path you selected at your moment of ascension (see page 3). You gain the 1st level ability of that path (archmage arcana, champion strike, divine surge, guardian’s call, marshal’s order, or trickster attack). Whenever you gain a path ability, you can select from list of abilities presented for both paths, as well as from the list of universal path abilities.


Saint Bernard wrote:
Pendagast wrote:
wait I missed the rules where you can dual path, you can do that or you're just making that up to play with the idea?

There is a mythic feat called Dual Path on page 24.

Dual Path (Mythic)
You excel in many areas, allowing you to select path abilities from two mythic paths.
Prerequisite: 1st mythic tier.
Benefit: Select a mythic path, other than the path you selected at your moment of ascension (see page 3). You gain the 1st level ability of that path (archmage arcana, champion strike, divine surge, guardian’s call, marshal’s order, or trickster attack). Whenever you gain a path ability, you can select from list of abilities presented for both paths, as well as from the list of universal path abilities.

As a Magus that would be my 3rd tier feat choice, my first would be Mythic Arcane Strike :)


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Mythic Arcane Strike is usless on a magus all you need is a +5 weapon to get the max +10. Remember, as the current rules stand, you can't have more than +10 on your weapon, no matter the source. And if you consider that they can get bane with the non-mythic Bane Blade feat, it really isn't worth.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
Dekalinder wrote:
Mythic Arcane Strike is usless on a magus all you need is a +5 weapon to get the max +10. Remember, as the current rules stand, you can't have more than +10 on your weapon, no matter the source. And if you consider that they can get bane with the non-mythic Bane Blade feat, it really isn't worth.

That's CURRENT rules. Paizo hasn't closed the door on doing actual Epic expansions. Take the long view and remember this is not the complete package, only 50 pages out of a full hard cover book.


Dekalinder wrote:
Mythic Arcane Strike is usless on a magus all you need is a +5 weapon to get the max +10. Remember, as the current rules stand, you can't have more than +10 on your weapon, no matter the source. And if you consider that they can get bane with the non-mythic Bane Blade feat, it really isn't worth.

read the fine print of mythic arcane strike

lets you apply ANY! enchantment.

Hello Bane, Hello Holy, Hello Vicious, Hello everything yet to be printed :)

btw Bane Blade requires Magus level 15, mythic arcane strike can be had as soon as you start taking mythic levels


Actually, since the playtest document specifically mentions DR/Epic requiring an enhancement bonus of +6 means we are pretty much guaranteed to see expanded weapon stuff.


I can only hope so. It whould be an awesome thing for magus an paladins. But i'm skeptical since the math inflation is exactly what they are trying to avoid.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Mythic Adventures Playtest / Player Feedback / Magus Archmage, made to be together? All Messageboards
Recent threads in Player Feedback

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.