Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Confuzzulement about greater Mythic Spells and Mythic Power


Player Feedback


A lot of mythic spells with the greater option say this: "you can expend two additional uses of mythic power when casting
this spell".

Circle of Death greater version says this: "you can expend two uses of your mythic power when casting this spell".

Are they just different or is one correct and the other an error?

So greater mythic spells need 3 mythic power to be spent, 2 mythic power to be spent or it varies?

Paizo Employee Lead Designer

In all cases, the greater version states the total price, not an increase to the base price of one use. There is some language confusion in there that needs to be cleaned up.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer

Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2015

I'm guessing that all is needed is to remove "additional" and it's clearer.

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 32 , Star Voter 2013

Wait, really?

Mythic Playtest pg 27 wrote:
... These spells have a “Greater” entry that includes an additional cost in uses of mythic power (on top of the one use spent to use the mythic version of the spell in the first place).


Yeah, that whole mechanic confused the hell out of me. I can see that mythic spells are hella simple, but I don't pretend to understand them in the least.


Mortuum wrote:
Yeah, that whole mechanic confused the hell out of me. I can see that mythic spells are hella simple, but I don't pretend to understand them in the least.

Spend 1 mythic power to cast a mythic spell. Spend the cost in the Greater description instead to cast the Greater Mythic version if possible.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Mythic Adventures Playtest / Player Feedback / Confuzzulement about greater Mythic Spells and Mythic Power All Messageboards
Recent threads in Player Feedback

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.