Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Lammasu Spellcasting


Rules Questions


I am a little confused with the lammasu.

From the monster's entry, B3: "A lammasu casts spells as a 7th-level oracle...but does not gain any other class abilities possessed by an oracle..."

So, based on this, does the lammasu gain each spell level's "cure" spell to its list of spells known, as an oracle would, or not?

Checking out the monster's list of spells known, each of spell levels 1-3 has the appropriate cure spell, so it looks like yes.

But, looking at the table for Oracle Spells Known (APG p.45), it also has exactly the right number of spells known per spell level for a 7th-level oracle, WITHOUT counting the cure spells as bonus.

*Confusion abounds*

Any thoughts on this? (I'm converting a 3.5 adventure to Pathfinder with a lammasu, so this is really bugging me atm.)

===
Taffer


Spontaneously casting cure spells is a class ability that oracles can have. If a lammasu doesn't have any of the class abilities, it would not have the ability to spontaneously cast cure spells, either. It must choose cure spells as spells known.

Because the lammasu doesn't get cure spells as bonus spells, it is selecting them as part of its spells known.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Lammasu Spellcasting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.