Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

GM credit


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

According to the rules each scenario is allowed 1 player chronicle and 1 gm chronicle. Am I allow to assign credit for games I GM backed 2008 to apply to a character?

*****

Sticky question ... I'm of the opinion no, GM credit didn't start until sometime in 2010 if I remember right... but hopefull the big man will weight in and give you a solid answer

Silver Crusade ****

Retroactive credit is currently a no go.

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Michigan—Detroit

There was no GM Reward system in 2008, and when it was instituted by Josh Frost he specifically said it wasn't retroactive. If you want to get credit, you will need to do what everyone else has and GM the scenario again, then report the session and collect the GM Reward chronicle. Sorry. Look on the bright side, the perks for GMs have come a long way since we had to eat scenarios in 2008.

Grand Lodge *****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Also, you are not allowed to hold a GM Chronicle sheet to apply to a PC later. You must specify which PC gets the credit when you complete the tracking sheet.

See PFS Guide 4.2 page 39, paragraph above "GM Stars"

Silver Crusade ****

That's incorrect Don. Mike has stated you can bank credit. I'll let someone like Jiggy post the link since he's got a memory for where that stuff is stored.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Daniel Luckett wrote:
That's incorrect Don. Mike has stated you can bank credit. I'll let someone like Jiggy post the link since he's got a memory for where that stuff is stored.

Actually, Mike stated you have to apply the credit immediately, you just don't have to actually build the character who has the pile of credit on him until you're ready to take him to the table.

That is, your GM credit must immediately be tied to a PC#, but that number can be a stat-less blob of theory up until it's time to play him.

Unfortunately, I can't seem to find the link at the moment. :/

Silver Crusade ****

I found the thread where it was actually never stated at the end what the decision was.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2nql7&page=2?GM-Credit-Lets-clear-up-confus ion

Going forward...

Silver Crusade ****

The Stat-less blob is dated prior to the undefined, do whatever thread...

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2nqg6?Do-not-encourage-cheating#22

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

The discussion leading to the "statless blob" question is then the most recent comment we have regarding when/how GMs must apply credit. The stance at the time was that GM credit must be applied to a PC# immediately. And since that apparently hasn't changed (unless I missed something), that's how it still works.

Silver Crusade ****

Meh...

Personally, doesn't effect me. I don't use GM credit, and I rarely play a character.

Liberty's Edge *****

Jiggy wrote:
Daniel Luckett wrote:
That's incorrect Don. Mike has stated you can bank credit. I'll let someone like Jiggy post the link since he's got a memory for where that stuff is stored.

Actually, Mike stated you have to apply the credit immediately, you just don't have to actually build the character who has the pile of credit on him until you're ready to take him to the table.

That is, your GM credit must immediately be tied to a PC#, but that number can be a stat-less blob of theory up until it's time to play him.

Unfortunately, I can't seem to find the link at the moment. :/

This is also how I understand the current ruling.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Well that is terrible news.

Shadow Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Fort Worth aka Azothath

I'm going to add a spin to this...
you use the current rules at the time of application of GM credit to a character. This goes along with the current banking of assigned GM credit way of doing things.

As rules for subtier rewards have changed, that means that GM credit you apply to an out of subtier character will get prorated gold (as of Aug 14 2013).

I say this because not everything you run occurs in the order you'd like to apply it (or even play it as a character).

Shadow Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Fort Worth aka Azothath

the current Guide clearly outlines how to apply GM credit.

Shadow Lodge ***

Yes, you apply the chronicle to the character number at the time you run the scenario, in accordance with the rules in effect at the time. Then, when your character reaches the lowest level that is in tier for the scenario, the character receives the benefits of that chronicle. The same benefits that were in place at the time the chronicle was earned and applied to that character number.

Shadow Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Fort Worth aka Azothath

Mystic Lemur wrote:

Yes, you apply the chronicle to the character number at the time you run the scenario, in accordance with the rules in effect at the time. Then, when your character reaches the lowest level that is in tier for the scenario, the character receives the benefits of that chronicle. The same benefits that were in place at the time the chronicle was earned and applied to that character number.

... correct...

Liberty's Edge **

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

The one remaining question I have is whether a GM can give GM credit to a character who is currently "locked" in a PbP game, applying the chronicle sheet to the character after the PbP game finishes, and after the sheet for the game the character is in.

The strictest interpretation of "one game at a time" would seem to say no-- but I don't know if that's really the intention. I am pretty sure the primary intention of the "one game at a time" rule is that if you have a character "locked" in a PbP game, you can NOT also play that character in a VTT or Face-to-Face game at the same time. But banking GM credit really isn't the same thing. That's why I'd like to get a ruling to make it clear whether this is allowed or not.

Here's where I asked this question over in the online forum

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / GM credit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.