Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Skirnir, wizards and two arcane bonds


Rules Questions


Hi,

I really love wizards! It is in fact one of my favorite classes. I think it is sad that wizard are such dicks in battle though (low spells and low attack).

I tought about mixing a wizard with a magus (a skirnir since I find it realy interesting). This way, I could eventually gain Broad study and cast wizard spells while using weapons. But there is a problem : I have two arcane bonds. Here are my questions about it:

1 - Does broad study allow me to cast wizard spells with the bond shield?

2 - I "do not suffer an arcane spell failure chance when casting magus spells while using a shield" but at 8th level, I gain the ability to "perform somatic components for magus spells, forfeiting the shield’s bonus to AC until the beginning of his next turn" while wearing a shield. Does that mean I can't use a weapon and shield AND cast a spell befor that level?

I may have more questions eventually! Thanks if you take the time to answer! And sorry for my low level English!


Nagaruo365 wrote:
Does broad study allow me to cast wizard spells with the bond shield?

Broad Study (Ex): "The magus selects another one of his spellcasting classes. The magus can use his spellstrike and spell combat abilities while casting or using spells from the spell list of that class. This does not allow him to cast arcane spells from that class's spell list without suffering the normal chances of arcane spell failure, unless the spell lacks somatic components. The magus must be at least 6th level and must possess levels in at least one other spellcasting class before selecting this arcana."

You can cast a wizard touch spell, and use Spellstrike to deliver it via your shield bash (or any other weapon you want).

Casting a spell once per day with your bonded shield is not spellstrike nor spell combat, so it doesn't work with broad study.

Nagaruo365 wrote:
I "do not suffer an arcane spell failure chance when casting magus spells while using a shield" but at 8th level, I gain the ability to "perform somatic components for magus spells, forfeiting the shield’s bonus to AC until the beginning of his next turn" while wearing a shield. Does that mean I can't use a weapon and shield AND cast a spell befor that level?

If you want to cast a spell that has somatic or material or focus components, you need a free hand. Shielded Spell Combat allows you to use your bonded shield to perform somatic components for magus spells.

So, after level 8, if you want to cast a magus spell that has somatic (but not material or focus) components, you can do so while wielding your shield and another weapon.

Here's A Guide to Touch Spells, Spellstrike, and Spell Combat that you might find helpful.


Thank you!

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Skirnir, wizards and two arcane bonds All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.