Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Attack of Opportunity question


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Ill admit im feeling lazy and only looked through the first three pages of this forum, there are 26k posts in it.

My question is this.
I have a fighter/rogue who has the feat(icantrecall) that lets you gain as many attacks of opportunity as you have dexterity (20 Dex so 5 atm).

At this table we just started using minatures for things.

Here is the situtation that came up.

Im standing in a street with a paladin litterally at my back. Both of us have drawn scimitars, he has a large shield while i have my tower shield.

We are stationary in defensive stances andget surrounded by 8 guys and situation looks like this.

(the map didnt really work out for me that well in the post. 7 guys can attack me, 5 can attack pally. )
_______
|--xxx| x = bad guys, P = Pally back to back with M = me
|-xPMx| Bag guys approach from the right, then when they get close
|--xxx| they wrap around us and try to encircle us.
------- the GM only allowed me to attack the x character just to the right of M, even though 7/8 guys entered my threatened space.

Is this a case of my brother not knowing how AoO's work in pathfinder, or me being confused on whats a threatened area?


Klokk wrote:
I have a fighter/rogue who has the feat(icantrecall) that lets you gain as many attacks of opportunity as you have dexterity (20 Dex so 5 atm).

Combat Reflexes lets you make a number of additional attacks of opportunity per round equal to your Dexterity bonus. So if your Dexterity score is 20, you can make a total of six attacks of opportunity per round.

Klokk wrote:
Bag guys approach from the right, then when they get close they wrap around us and try to encircle us. the GM only allowed me to attack the x character

When one of the bag guys attempts to leave one of your threatened squares, he will provoke an AoO from you, unless he uses acrobatics or something to avoid it. Each bag guy will only provoke once from that movement, even if he leaves multiple threatened squares.

That said, if they had enough movement, they could circle before moving in adjacent to you so they don't provoke.


Entering a threatened area does not provoke an AoO. Leaving a threatened area does. Depending on how they moved exactly it is possible none of them would have provoked.

Give you are using a scimitar in this case you would only get in AoO and a guy standing in any of the 8 grid squares surrounding your grid square moved away (not counting a simple 5' step) or did some other action that provokes, like casting a spell, drinking a potion, firing a ranged weapon, etc.

Silver Crusade

See i thought that us standing our ground would make the space around us "threatened" and when the thugs ran up to us (all arriving at same moment) I would be able to get a swipe at them. Didnt realize that entering a threatened space did not provoke an AoO.

So next time it may be better to charge the bad guys instead of holding the line.

Two of the guys did pull out bows to try to shoot some people behind us, but didnt move away from us. That should have provoked an AoO, correct? as did the one that drank a potion and other one that cast a spell.

Also if someone flees from me in panic, (not retreat or 5' step) i can get a swip at them.

So a cheep tactic would be to engage 6 guys, someone else fears them so they run away.

Does it provoke an AoO if someone thats fighting me turns and fights someone next to me. or does that just give me flanking and access to my sneak attacks.


Klokk wrote:
See i thought that us standing our ground would make the space around us "threatened" and when the thugs ran up to us (all arriving at same moment) I would be able to get a swipe at them.

It depends on how they moved. If one walked right up to you, then moved around through the adjacent squares to get next to the paladin, then he would have left a threatened square and provoked. If they spread out, and circled you, and only ever entered one threatened square, then they don't provoke.

Klokk wrote:
Two of the guys did pull out bows to try to shoot some people behind us, but didnt move away from us. That should have provoked an AoO, correct?

Firing a ranged weapon normally provokes. If they did so in a threatened square, then yes, you should have been able to attack them.

Klokk wrote:
as did the one that drank a potion and other one that cast a spell.

Yes on the potion (barring any unusual abilities) and maybe on the spell. He could have cast defensively, where he makes a concentration check in order to not provoke.

Klokk wrote:
Does it provoke an AoO if someone thats fighting me turns and fights someone next to me. or does that just give me flanking and access to my sneak attacks.

Possibly neither. Only actions that provoke will provoke. If he's just attacking someone, that normally doesn't provoke.

In order to get flanking, your target must have a creature threatening it on it's opposite side. There's a diagram here.

-edit- Take a look at Table: Actions in Combat. The entry on the right side tells you if that action will provoke an AoO or not.

Silver Crusade

those answerd sll help alot. Thank. Just one more ? and thats it. :)

The rogue percise damage thing. Do I have to be at the back of the creature like in earlier versions of dnd, or does that not matter anymore - just having someone on the other side of the creature from you?


Klokk wrote:

those answerd sll help alot. Thank. Just one more ? and thats it. :)

The rogue percise damage thing. Do I have to be at the back of the creature like in earlier versions of dnd, or does that not matter anymore - just having someone on the other side of the creature from you?

Facing has been eliminated in Pathfinder so you don't (and technically cannot) have to be "behind" anyone to use sneak attack, as long as you meet the regular necessary requirements.


Klokk wrote:
The rogue percise damage thing. Do I have to be at the back of the creature like in earlier versions of dnd, or does that not matter anymore - just having someone on the other side of the creature from you?

Sneak Attack: "The rogue's attack deals extra damage anytime her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target."

Every time you attack in melee, ask yourself: "Is my target denied dex? Am I getting a flanking bonus?" If either answer is "yes" then you get sneak attack.

Every time you attack from ranged but within 30 feet, ask yourself: "Is my target denied dex?" If the answer is "yes" then you get sneak attack.

There is no facing, no front or back.

Many conditions can result in being denied dex, like being flat-footed, or balancing, running, or feint.

Remember, flanking only applies to melee attacks, never to ranged attacks. There's a diagram there to help you understand what the opposite border is.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Attack of Opportunity question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.