Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

GM Credit - Multi Session Modules


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

Andoran *

Ok. Pretty specific example but it is my situation. I apologize if this is clearly stated somewhere. I looked - but to no avail. (perhaps I need more tea...)

I am running First Steps for some PFS players in a homegame.
We have done Parts one and two.
I applied my GM credit of both to my fresh/never played Gunslinger.

I've been invited to play in a 1-2 level Module on Monday, in which I plan to play my Gunslinger.

If the module can not be completed in one session, we are not awarded xp or PP.

When I run my final installment of First Steps on the Follow Wednesday, provided my Gunslinger has not got a final XP. Can I apply the sheet to him still - even though he is "stuck" in a module. If so, does the credit apply only After the game? Do I just level him up, with no option to buy gear?

Just found myself in this confusion situation. We may be playing to much pathfinder here... :3

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

I believe once you start playing the module, your PC is 'locked in' until it's finished, and can't advance via other means (even through GM credit) until after the module is finished. Otherwise you'd have a PC advancing via two routes in parallel, which is a little wonky.

In your specific case, you could never apply the GM credit from 'A Vision of Betrayal' after the module, as the gunslinger would then be at 5XP and therefore out of tier for First Steps.

Note that if you were doing things the other way round (playing a First Steps scenario while part-way through GMing a module), I think you'd be fine. Playing the scenario would take you to 3XP as expected. Then at the end of the module you look at your available PCs, decide to apply credit to your gunslinger, and he goes up to 6XP, with no conflict.

Andoran *

Thanks Paz. The situation was a little dicey. I was just thinking in advance if I needed to assign my Vision of Betrayal credit to another character.

Grand Lodge *****

What Paz said.

Logistically, you started the module with 2 XP (ie a level 1 character). You could not also play the First Steps scenario with the same level 1 character.

You could play the last First Steps scenario first giving you 3 XP (a level 2 character) and then start the Tier 1-2 module with your second level character, but we are not allowed to "hold" XP to avoid leveling a character so that it can be used to continue to play in a lower tiered game.

For multi-session modules that don't "finish," there are several options:

a) find another GM to finish the module for the group.
b) play without all the original players and award partial credit to the missing players.
c) take partial credit for the module to "unlock" your character. Though this requires a GM to sign-off on the Chronicle sheets.

Andoran *

So - just so I'm clear. And I think I get it.

When a character is in a multi session situation, they can not have a Chronicle sheet of any sort applied to them.

So that means:
No GM Credit.
No Boons - Holiday or other wise
No Sheets from Pathfinder Tales.

Grand Lodge ****

Joshua Smith wrote:

So - just so I'm clear. And I think I get it.

When a character is in a multi session situation, they can not have a Chronicle sheet of any sort applied to them.

So that means:
No GM Credit.
No Boons - Holiday or other wise
No Sheets from Pathfinder Tales.

Correct, that PC is off on a mission and can't do anything else while they are completing that mission.

Andoran *

Awesome. Thanks for the answers guys. Laid a few bedbugs to rest on that one.

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Joshua Smith wrote:

No Boons - Holiday or other wise

No Sheets from Pathfinder Tales.

I think these are OK to be applied part-way through playing a module.

If you bring a Tales book with you to the session, you should be able to apply it to the PC you're playing. It doesn't impact anything in terms of XP, gold, etc.

If you play a session during a holiday boon period, you should get the boon. Again, nothing about the PC is impacted.

Grand Lodge *****

Actually, those sheets provide a boon to the PC that they did not have when starting the module.

I felt the same way Paz until I realized this.

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

I don't see why that's an issue.

Unlike a scenario chronicle with XP, gp, etc. you're not 'advancing' the character, merely adding a bonus feature (which is usually only usable once).

If I played several sessions (not the first or last session) of a sanctioned module during a holiday boon period and the GM didn't think he could give out the boon (or thought he could, but was overruled by a co-ordinator), I'd feel a bit short-changed.

Andoran *

On a related note.

What if I am running a module - and plan on applying the credit to character. But between sessions I want to play this Character in another session. Am I permitted? Or do GM's need to decide what character they are applying the sheets to at the start of the Possible Multi-session event, and "remove them" from eligibility until said multi-session is over.

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

GMs decide which PC to apply credit to at the end of the module, so there's no conflict in the situation you describe.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / GM Credit - Multi Session Modules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.