Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Where does the trip happen.


Rules Questions


Ok so im making a fighter with 1 level of monk for a trip build. Im useing a reach weapon with trip. So when a monster approaches me I will get that AoO when he passes my 10' threat square. Now the question is, if I trip with that AoO what square does he land in? AoO rules state's the provoke happens when they leave the square, so would he be at my feet? I ask because I plan to take the Vicious Stomp feat, allowing me to trip him with greater trip, provoke that second AoO, then stomp him for going prone. Greater trip and Vicious stomp do proc 2 different AoOs. So the only thing stopping me is where the target lands. Thanks in advance if anyone has an idea!


Attacks of opportunity occur before the event that precipitated them. If the target moved from 10' to 5' he provokes AT 10' (assuming it did not take a 5' step). If you trip the target at that point it falls 10' away from you.

- Gauss


Bah so this won't work till I can pick up Ki throw then :( Thanks


the AoO "interrupts" the normal flow of combat, and happens before the triggering event, so he will fall prone in the 10 foot square.(it happens When the enemy leaves the threatend square)
(the AoO from greater trip would happen when he is still standing, not when he's got the -4 to melee AC from prone)

A similar thing happens when he provokes for standing up, when you take the AoO on him, he is still considered prone (so you can NOT trip him again) as the AoO interrupts and happens before the triggering event.

It might seem a bit complicated (an at times it is) but if you have ever played Magic the gathering the trading card game, just think of it as how the "stack" is resolved.

As for your idea about a trip reach weapon + vicious stomp, that won't work.
Normal 5 feet range trip + AoO from Greater trip + vicious stomp would work though. You might want to look at a Whip + Whip mastery and it's improved and Greater version (15 feet reach with the whip and 10 feet reach for threatened squares)


Like i said i will just take Ki throw before vicious stomp in my build order then, Ki throw will let me trip him to melee range, as the one level of monk will let me threaten that area as well. Side note, The stack has been removed from mtg btw, no more counter spelling his counter spell that counterd your counter spell. Yo dawg, i heard you like counter spell. But i get what you were saying thanks!


hehe, np, and what, it has ?, i kinda stopped playing around 8th edition. didn't like the new design on the cards, and it was starting to get a bit absurds with the different new fancy stuff you could get. but meh, i'm derailing a Pathfinder forum post into a Magic talk =(


To not disrail to much further i will give a simple yup and it is stupid lol

Cheliax

Ki throw can only be done with unarmed attacks. You can't ki throw with your reach weapon.

Quote:


Ki Throw (Combat)
Your physical control and mastery of momentum allows you to throw enemies.

Prerequisites: Improved Trip, Improved Unarmed Strike.

Benefit: On a successful unarmed trip attack against a target your size or smaller, you may throw the target prone in any square you threaten rather than its own square. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and you cannot throw the creature into a space occupied by other creatures.

Special: A monk may gain Ki Throw as a bonus feat at 10th level. A monk with this feat can affect creatures larger than his own size by spending 1 ki point per size category difference.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Where does the trip happen. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.