Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Do Spell-like abilities let you qualify for Feats / Prestige Classes / Etc.?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Best example I can think of off the top of my head:

You're a Qinggong Monk. You learn Cold Ice Strike at level 15.

Does this mean you qualify for Feats/Classes that specify "Must be able to cast spells of 6th level or higher", and stuff like that?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Nope. SLAs are not spells. They do not count as spells for just about anything. Anything that affects spells doesn't necessarily affect SLAs, and so forth.

Sean has a quote on this, and you can pierce it together from the FAQ, but someone else will have to link you to them.


Ah, okay then. Thanks for the quick answer.

I just remember seeing a Prestige Class (I believe, it may have been a Feat) that specified something exactly like that and it got me wondering. It was a few days ago so I can't remember what it was but the thought popped back in my head and I figured I'd ask.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It's a common question and the CRB really doesn't do the best job of making it clear. PM me tomorrow if you want the citations. It's just a pain to actually find and copy those down on a tablet :)


The CRB does just fine making it clear.

"Must be able to cast spells of 6th level or higher."

Can your Qinggong Monk cast a 6th level spell? Not utilize an ability, wield a magic item, or do things with spell-like effects or outcomes mind you, but CAST THE ACTUAL SPELL.

If the answer is "nope, he sure can't", then it's not the rulebook that's unclear.

Often times people try to bend semantics to fit what they're looking for. A spell-like ability is not a spell being cast. A feat that allows you to do things "as per <insert spell here>" is not a spell being cast. Only a spell being cast is a spell being cast.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Barry Armstrong wrote:

The CRB does just fine making it clear.

"Must be able to cast spells of 6th level or higher."

Can your Qinggong Monk cast a 6th level spell? Not utilize an ability, wield a magic item, or do things with spell-like effects or outcomes mind you, but CAST THE ACTUAL SPELL.

If the answer is "nope, he sure can't", then it's not the rulebook that's unclear.

Often times people try to bend semantics to fit what they're looking for. A spell-like ability is not a spell being cast. A feat that allows you to do things "as per <insert spell here>" is not a spell being cast. Only a spell being cast is a spell being cast.

The issue is that by the rulebook SLA are treated like spells.

With that aside you are correct, but the I do understand why the answer could have been written better.


Related question: Does have a caster level for the purpose of an ability qualify you for magic item creation feats? In other words, can a devil brew a potion?


Barry Armstrong wrote:

The CRB does just fine making it clear.

"Must be able to cast spells of 6th level or higher."

Can your Qinggong Monk cast a 6th level spell? Not utilize an ability, wield a magic item, or do things with spell-like effects or outcomes mind you, but CAST THE ACTUAL SPELL.

If the answer is "nope, he sure can't", then it's not the rulebook that's unclear.

Often times people try to bend semantics to fit what they're looking for. A spell-like ability is not a spell being cast. A feat that allows you to do things "as per <insert spell here>" is not a spell being cast. Only a spell being cast is a spell being cast.

If it looks like a spell, works like a spell, and acts like a spell, it is conceivable that I would think it was a spell for the purpose of these things.

I get what you're trying to say, but this was already covered in the first response. A simple no sufficed, and I went about my day.


My bad. The answer, as Cheapy said, is no.

But your first line is what leads to people reading too far into the rules. Which is why I expanded to try to cover every "well, what if" response, which is the norm on these boards.

If I made that assumption incorrectly, I apologize. And, I am long-winded. I never answer with one word when a hundred will do. :P


wraithstrike wrote:

The issue is that by the rulebook SLA are treated like spells.

With that aside you are correct, but the I do understand why the answer could have been written better.

Being treated like a spell and actually being a spell are two completely seperate concepts.


S'not a problem. I understand it looks like I'm trying to game the system a little bit, but with my tenuous grasp on the rules of this game I find I usually have two options: Search extensively through the guides or, after about a few minutes of searching, ask for help from either my GM or the boards, and the boards are more easily accessible (and have more perspectives).

I think a good chunk of my threads on this board have been rules clarifications actually, bar the "Help me build/rate my character" couple of threads I made (and thanks to anyone who helped with that).

Liberty's Edge

Rynjin wrote:

S'not a problem. I understand it looks like I'm trying to game the system a little bit, but with my tenuous grasp on the rules of this game I find I usually have two options: Search extensively through the guides or, after about a few minutes of searching, ask for help from either my GM or the boards, and the boards are more easily accessible (and have more perspectives).

I think a good chunk of my threads on this board have been rules clarifications actually, bar the "Help me build/rate my character" couple of threads I made (and thanks to anyone who helped with that).

Rynjin, I feel that you might be afraid of people on the boards taking you for an abominable munchkin/powergamer. From the threads I have read where you posted, you do not give this vibe of trying to game the system (especially you lack the arrogance).

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Rynjin wrote:
If it looks like a spell, works like a spell, and acts like a spell, it is conceivable that I would think it was a spell for the purpose of these things.

But the requirement isn't the ability to use "Cold Ice Strike", it is the ability to cast 6th level spells.

So unless you have the ability to cast 6th level spells (even if you are 12th level a sorcerer and know only one 6th level spell) you don't qualify.

Similarly Caster levels fro SLA don't allow you to craft magic items. you need levels in a spellcasting class.


The black raven wrote:


Rynjin, I feel that you might be afraid of people on the boards taking you for an abominable munchkin/powergamer. From the threads I have read where you posted, you do not give this vibe of trying to game the system (especially you lack the arrogance).

Well thank you. Though honestly I think you're the first person I've met who has said I'm NOT arrogant.

Diego Rossi wrote:

But the requirement isn't the ability to use "Cold Ice Strike", it is the ability to cast 6th level spells.

So unless you have the ability to cast 6th level spells (even if you are 12th level a sorcerer and know only one 6th level spell) you don't qualify.

Similarly Caster levels fro SLA don't allow you to craft magic items. you need levels in a spellcasting class.

That...is a damn good point. And that last part was something else I was wondering about, thank you. Though I think my GM may be houseruling that in because he mentioned something about it last session.


Rynjin wrote:
Well thank you. Though honestly I think you're the first person I've met who has said I'm NOT arrogant.

I don't think you're arrogant. Just underinformed on RAW and RAI.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Do Spell-like abilities let you qualify for Feats / Prestige Classes / Etc.? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.