Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Are arcane surge, wild arcana, and mythic spells immediate / free actions?


Player Feedback


If I'm gonna be testing a level 20 enchanter tier 3 archmage against, say, Treerazer then I'll need to know how many mythic points I can spend in a round. Here's what I know.

• Add 1d6 to d20 roll just made: immediate action (p.4).

• Bonus turn from amazing initiative: free action (p.6)

• Arcane surge, wild arcana, mythic spells: unknown (p.7, 27)

Is there a default assumption whenever a type of action isn't made explicit?

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion Subscriber

They seem to be non-actions, or at least that would be my assumption since they are not listed as an action type.

Qadira

I would assume you merely spend the point as part of the secondary action (ie - casting a spell). The same seems to be true when casting greater mythic spells


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Dukai wrote:
I would assume you merely spend the point as part of the secondary action (ie - casting a spell). The same seems to be true when casting greater mythic spells

That's my understanding as well.


If arcane surge is a non-action then that should mean I can just spam meteor swarm and wish in one round until I run out of mythic power (and diamonds).


Not so! You still have to cast the spell. It's just that you use your ability as part of the action to cast it, rather than as a separate action of any type.

Qadira

Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion Subscriber

The wording is different from the path power Channel Power which IS part of casting a spell.

Secondly it goes against the pattern maintained by all the rest of the paths - their 1st level ability is always either a swift or immediate action - if these abilities (and the Hierophant's equivalents) aren't treated as swift action. In general, I noticed that every path gives a way for that character to gain an extra attack or spell (or extra move and attack as the case maybe) for either themselves or an ally.

I'd say these are meant to be swift actions.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting Subscriber

Another arcane surge question: when you use arcane surge to cast a spell, is that spell expended? I'm 90% it isn't, especially because you can use surge to cast a spell you have prepared and already cast. I would just have expected it to outright state that "the prepared spell or spell slot is not expended when casting with arcane surge."


Mortuum wrote:
You still have to cast the spell. It's just that you use your ability as part of the action to cast it, rather than as a separate action of any type.

But doesn't spending mythic power let me cast extra spells in a turn (or is that round)? I'm still confused and I'm really hoping Jason clears up any ambiguity.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Mythic Adventures Playtest / Player Feedback / Are arcane surge, wild arcana, and mythic spells immediate / free actions? All Messageboards
Recent threads in Player Feedback

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.