Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Menacing Weapon Enhancement: Stackability?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm looking at the menacing weapon enhancement in Ultimate Equipment, and I notice there's no set limit on the number of these you can have affecting your party at a time.

Does this mean:

- multiple characters can have one, and it adds +2 to the flanking bonus each time?
- a single character can dual-wield two of them, adding +4 to the flanking bonus total?
- a character with twenty arms and twenty of these can add +40 to the flanking bonus of any of his allies?

Intended or no, what do you guys say? The bonus only applies while someone is flanking of course.


Pathfinder Core Rulebook, page 208 wrote:


Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or
penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws,
and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves.
More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack
even if they come from different spells (or from effects
other than spells; see Bonus Types, above)

Also -- I seem to recall that creatures with different, non-humanoid body types have the same number of magic item slots. A creature with six arms cannot necessarily benefit from six rings, nor would a creature with twenty arms benefit from twenty menacing weapons. To your benefit, however, animal companions may be able to benefit from gloves-style magic items, DM willing.

I'm viewing the Advanced Player's Guide copy of Menacing, and the one thing I can see for your case is that it doesn't explicitly call it out as a bonus ... rather it is an increase to a bonus. Still, an increase to a bonus would be seen by many to be, in of itself, a bonus.

Further, we do have Armor bonuses, Natural Armor bonuses, Armor Enhancement bonuses and Natural Armor Enhancement bonuses. Although they have their own names, Armor Enhancement bonuses and Natural Armor Enhancement bonuses are precisely the same concept as Menacing's increase to flanking bonus. One cannot add two separate Enhancement bonuses together, and consistency would imply that the same Menacing effect wouldn't stack with itself.

Still, if you are not yet convinced, I am then compelled to ask you:

Can a Druid in Wildshape with several natural weapons and a Menacing Amulet of Mighty Fists increase his allies' flanking bonus by an extra +6 or +8, or even +8/+10 if they have Outflank?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Menacing Weapon Enhancement: Stackability? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.