Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Raging & Switching Judgements


Rules Questions


So I was running a side session for a character today, and I ran into the quandry of whether or not a player can switch their Judgment while raging, and wanted the sage wisdom of these forums.

To start, the player is playing a natural Werebear Lychanthrope Inquisitor, who primarily wields a large Berserking Sword and hunts down monsters. The character worships Gorum and actively seeks battle out. However at the same time she's ashamed of her shapeshifting and only really uses the sword as her weapon when she can transform(otherwise we're flavoring it as her divine focus in human form, which given the god sounds on the up and up).

The problem came up when she found herself some 20 zombies to deal with and she, a level 3 Inquisitor, changed to hybrid form and whipped out the sword, activated her damage judgement and went to work. After some truely terrible rolls for her, 5+ rounds of just nat 1's and another 3 rounds of poor-ish rolls while I rolled several crits that confirmed(since otherwise the zeds couldn't even hurt her do to dr), she took enough damage to get knocked out and will now be taken captive by the Vampire BBEG who's commanding these things.

However, the question is, can she change her judgement while raging? If she had changed it to fast healing there was a good chance she could have avoided getting knocked out, but I felt that at the time it wasn't something that she could on account of the raging since I thought it was a (Sp) or at least required concentration/patience. Since it was a questionable call, I at least forgoed the check for her to stabilize when she was pushed to negs so I don't feel bad, we're just checking for future games.

Cheliax

Huh... this is a good question, and it's relevant to me, as I have an Inquisitor of Ragathiel with the Rage Subdomain.


Seranov wrote:
Huh... this is a good question, and it's relevant to me, as I have an Inquisitor of Ragathiel with the Rage Subdomain.

I mean it's pretty clear it works if you activate it between rages, but during is a little iffy. More so with this character since it's a cursed weapon...

Cheliax

Yeah, I'd say it's not something you can do, but I can't seem to find anything that specifies either way.


Any additional opinions?


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Judgement is a supernatural ability, and does not require concentration.

It can be used, activated, or switched during Rage.

See here.

Cheliax

Nifty. Good to know, thanks bbt.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

This is true of all Supernatural abilities, like a Witch's Hex.


Alright, well something good to keep in mind for the future.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

Judgement is a supernatural ability, and does not require concentration.

It can be used, activated, or switched during Rage.

See here.

Raging bard = heavy metal?

It should be noted that - at least in a barbarian's rage - it is abilities that require patience or concentration that they cannot use.

Patience is not a game keyword, so it is totally up to the DM to rule on each case.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Raging & Switching Judgements All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.