Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Authoritative Vestments... no penalty stated, but is it implied?


Rules Questions


The item Authoritative Vestments reads as such:

"Typically worn by senior members of a faith, these cumbersome but splendidly ornate garments create an aura of dignity and gravitas that few dare to challenge. When activated, the garments make you seem more impressive and worthy of respect to all viewers within 60 feet of you; you may make a single Diplomacy check to change the attitudes of these viewers as a swift action. You can only use this ability on a particular viewer once per day (additional attempts have no effect, though you can still persuade viewers normally without the help of the focus)."

The operative word is CUMBERSOME. It states these robes are ungainly -- but does not quantify the penalties, if any -- for wearing them. So what does one do? Does one take the description with a grain of salt and assume that when expedient they are not so burdensome (beyond the whopping 7.5 lbs they add to load out, which can indeed push one into weight-capacity penalties) --

Should I just get over it and enjoy my item purchase? Or am I missing something... I don't want to take a benefit while skirting the liabilities... it's just in this case the text seems to imply, but not quantify...

Please advise!


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

No penalty.


Think of it this way. 7-8Lbs of clothing is your typical thick jeans, heavy sweater/shirt and heavy jacket. Now those alone are ungainly for a lot of fine motions even just leaning over can be troublesome. Now imagine Clerical Robes and Vestments weighing that. It is kinda worrisome.

Now in Combat they wouldn't cause to much of a problem. Only the fact that they weigh so much.

So no. No penalty other than their weigh. It is just flavor text.


Azaelas Fayth wrote:
So no. No penalty other than their weigh. It is just flavor text.

Actually, your first set of clothes do not count against your weight. So there is absolutely no penalty.


Where did you read that because I haven't seen that mentioned.


Azaelas Fayth wrote:
Where did you read that because I haven't seen that mentioned.

My error. This was a deliberate change from 3.5. Scratch another thing I am unconsciously carrying forward from 3.5.

Edit: reading the linked thread, the change may not have actually been deliberate


I started to say did I miss a rule that could have helped my Fighter?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Azaelas Fayth wrote:
I started to say did I miss a rule that could have helped my Fighter?

Just go nude under your armor!


This is good news. I'm very happy.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So am I.

@Whale_Cancer: He was already only wearing an Armoured Kilt when not in Full Plate.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Authoritative Vestments... no penalty stated, but is it implied? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.