Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Recalled Blessing - Dice Rerolling


Mythic Adventures Playtest General Discussion

Lantern Lodge

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion Subscriber
Quote:
Recalled Blessing (Su): You can expend one use of mythic power to cast any one divine spell. This spell must be one that you prepared for the day (even if it has already been cast) or be from your list of spells known (if you cast spells spontaneously). If the spell requires a saving throw, any nonmythic targets making such a saving throw must roll twice and take the worse result. In addition, if the spell cures an aff liction, heals damage, or removes a condition, you can roll any dice associated with the spell twice and take the better result. You can’t apply any metamagic feats to this spell.

This one has some RAW interpretation "flexibility" in the way it is written. To my knowledge I can't think of another example where dice rerolling involves more then one die. So as an example, Cure Critical Wounds (4d8+x) would the player rolled:

MAX(4d8,4d8)+x

or

MAX(1d8,1d8)+MAX(1d8,1d8)+MAX(1d8,1d8)+MAX(1d8,1d8)+x

(Max also being the ceiling function)

The first one is going to produce a more average result then the second, I've only just begun skimming, but I didn't see any other similar rerolling like abilities quiet like this, so I think the language could be tightened to give a particular meaning.

Paizo Employee Lead Designer

Its the first one. The second version is a bit too good and way to complicated at the table.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing


A related question, if I convert a spell into a cure spell, can I recall the prepared spell or the cure spell that was cast? Example: Convert protection from evil into cure light wounds, which spell can be recalled?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Mythic Adventures Playtest / General Discussion / Recalled Blessing - Dice Rerolling All Messageboards
Recent threads in General Discussion

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.