Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Can a weapon be both adamantine and silver?


Rules Questions


Is it possible, by RAW/RAI, to create an adamantine weapon that also has the "silver" property, e. g. an adamantine weapon with a layer of silver or something similar?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

There's a silversheen magic item that would overlay the adamantine property, but the weapon would not be considered adamantine while it is in effect.

Only other option I can think of is a double weapon with each end made of different materials.

So, no, not really.


Turgan wrote:
Is it possible, by RAW/RAI, to create an adamantine weapon that also has the "silver" property, e. g. an adamantine weapon with a layer of silver or something similar?

Special Materials: "If you make a suit of armor or weapon out of more than one special material, you get the benefit of only the most prevalent material."

Silver, Alchemical: "The alchemical silvering process can't be applied to nonmetal items, and it doesn't work on rare metals such as adamantine, cold iron, and mithral."

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I believe that the new property overwrites the old one, so no. You could use weapon blanch, but it's quite short lived

Weapon Blanch: These alchemical powders have a gritty consistency. When poured on a weapon and placed over a hot flame for a full round, they melt and form a temporary coating on the weapon. The blanching gives the weapon the ability to bypass one kind of material-based damage reduction, such as adamantine, cold iron, or silver. The blanching remains effective until the weapon makes a successful attack. Each dose of blanching can coat one weapon or up to 10 pieces of ammunition. Only one kind of weapon blanch can be on a weapon at one time, though a weapon made of one special material (such as adamantine) can have a different material blanch (such as silver), and counts as both materials for the first successful hit.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Apply Silversheen to an Adamantine weapon.


No, but a +2 weapon *counts* as silver. So, a +2 Adamantine weapon counts as both. I assume you know this, but stating it just in case.


Thanks a lot for the answers!

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 4

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As a general rule, some things shouldn't be made or allowed. Sure, it's a world of magic and wonder, but when the Core Rules disallow, or don't make provisions for something (or imply that you shouldn't, as in the case of silversheen and adamantine weapons)—there's generally a good reason why.

This would be a supreme weapon of convenience, and would circumvent DR challenges for certain monsters. Handy for the players, but at the expense of nerfing your monsters. Part of the challenge those monsters present to the players is the fact that they need weapons of different materials. It's meant to be inconvenient.

************
In fact, and this is a bit of a tangent—the magic item creation rules allow for some hybridized items. Like adding additional properties to certain items. From practical experience, I would not recommend that at all. As my personal houserule, if you're going to craft you only craft items in the Core Rulebooks.


Rudy2 wrote:
No, but a +2 weapon *counts* as silver. So, a +2 Adamantine weapon counts as both. I assume you know this, but stating it just in case.

+3 weapons count as silver, but only for the purpose of bypassing DR.

I think the OP is wanting the weapon to actually all the properties of the material.


wraithstrike wrote:
Rudy2 wrote:
No, but a +2 weapon *counts* as silver. So, a +2 Adamantine weapon counts as both. I assume you know this, but stating it just in case.

+3 weapons count as silver, but only for the purpose of bypassing DR.

I think the OP is wanting the weapon to actually all the properties of the material.

Oops! I thought it was +2 silver, +3 cold iron, +4 adamantine. Thanks for the correction!

Related question: is there any purpose for which it matters, besides bypassing DR?


Rudy2 wrote:
is there any purpose for which it matters, besides bypassing DR?

Some regeneration can be overcome by silver. A few monsters "shy away" from silver, but there's not really any rules about it.


Rudy2 wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Rudy2 wrote:
No, but a +2 weapon *counts* as silver. So, a +2 Adamantine weapon counts as both. I assume you know this, but stating it just in case.

+3 weapons count as silver, but only for the purpose of bypassing DR.

I think the OP is wanting the weapon to actually all the properties of the material.

Oops! I thought it was +2 silver, +3 cold iron, +4 adamantine. Thanks for the correction!

Related question: is there any purpose for which it matters, besides bypassing DR?

The hardness of the weapon is affect by the material.

Mithral actually reduces the weight of the weapon.

A weapon that is made of silver does less damage than one made of normal metal.


wraithstrike wrote:
A weapon that is made of silver does less damage than one made of normal metal.

Unless it's a bludgeoning weapon.


Grick wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
A weapon that is made of silver does less damage than one made of normal metal.

Unless it's a bludgeoning weapon.

I never noticed that it only calls out piercing and slashing before.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I think people are confusing normal silver, with Alchemical Silver.

Mithral and Silversheen count as Silver as well.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

I think people are confusing normal silver, with Alchemical Silver.

Mithral and Silversheen count as Silver as well.

Mithral only counts as silver for the purpose of DR. When a weapon is made of silver it means alchemical silver.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

The Silversheen material is decent, at only +750 per weapon.

No damage penalty either.

Osirion

wraithstrike wrote:
Rudy2 wrote:
No, but a +2 weapon *counts* as silver. So, a +2 Adamantine weapon counts as both. I assume you know this, but stating it just in case.

+3 weapons count as silver, but only for the purpose of bypassing DR.

I think the OP is wanting the weapon to actually all the properties of the material.

Depending on build, some characters can access +3 admantine or +4 weapons as early as 5th level.


What about a double weapon? One side Adamantine, the other side Silver.


GM Jeff wrote:
What about a double weapon? One side Adamantine, the other side Silver.

Each side works as its own weapon, and you do have to pay the masterwork cost for both sides so I don't see why not.

RAW it might not work though.


Raw it works can't get my phones copy paste to work but its the first paragraph under special materials in the crb equipment section


Quote:
However, you can build a double weapon with each head made of a different special material.


So long story short no. You can't have 2 material properties on the same end of a weapon.


As an aasimar (yes, I know, they're perfect), you can take both Eldritch Claws and Angelic Flesh (steel) to make any natural attacks you have both silver and cold iron. Then just be a high-level monk to make your unarmed strikes adamantine as well.

You'd have to figure out a way to get claws on yourself, and then get Feral Combat Training so you could flurry with your whatever. I'd stick with talons of leng on your hands, even though you take a hit on Wisdom. Metallic trifecta (plus insanity!)


Claws can be obtained a variety of ways. You can get a Magic Item that transforms your hands into claws.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can a weapon be both adamantine and silver? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.