Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Kensai and natural weapon or armor spikes


Rules Questions


Can the Kensai magus take a natural weapon as his chosen weapon or does it have to be a martial or exotic weapon?
He is proficient with simple weapons and in a single martial or exotic melee weapon of his choice.
Does this weapon of choice have to be the same weapon of choice for his other abilities?

If this is the case can it be intendet that a Kensai can not under any circumstances specialize in a simple weapon?

What I'm up to is the following:
I am trying to figure out if you can build a white haired witch 1/ Kensai x that specializes in the use of his hair for everything.

Strictly RAW the problem with this build could be that the hair is not wielded in one of his hands (which spell combat requires) but normally natural weapons cound as light melee weapons so I'd think that as long as he keeps one of his hands free he fulfils all the requirements except for the weapon not being in hand.
But the same would be true for armor spikes. So the question is: Would the normal magus' spell combat work with armor spikes as the required melee weapon? A light melee weapon, as required but not wielded in a hand.


Umbranus wrote:
Can the Kensai magus take a natural weapon as his chosen weapon or does it have to be a martial or exotic weapon?

Kensai (Archetype): "A kensai is proficient in simple weapons and in a single martial or exotic melee weapon of his choice."

A natural weapon is not a martial or exotic melee weapon.

Umbranus wrote:
Does this weapon of choice have to be the same weapon of choice for his other abilities?

I would assume "his chosen weapon" means the weapon you chose to be proficient with.

Umbranus wrote:
If this is the case can it be intendet that a Kensai can not under any circumstances specialize in a simple weapon?

I don't know about the intent, but that seems to be the rule.

Umbranus wrote:
Would the normal magus' spell combat work with armor spikes as the required melee weapon?

I assume when Spell Combat says the magus can "make all of his attacks with his melee weapon" it's talking specifically about the light or one-handed melee weapon he is wielding in the other hand.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Armor Spikes are a Martial weapon, and can be chosen.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
Armor Spikes are a Martial weapon, and can be chosen.

The problem is that RAW he has to have the weapon in his hand.

Quote:
To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand.


Umbranus wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Armor Spikes are a Martial weapon, and can be chosen.
The problem is that RAW he has to have the weapon in his hand.

Armor spikes can be the Kensai chosen weapon (martial melee weapon). They can't be used with Spell Combat (in hand).

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Kensai and natural weapon or armor spikes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.