Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

First steps .. again


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Shadow Lodge *****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

so I have a character that is only going to be able to play First steps Part 2 (which I played today)

Upon Looking at the chronicle I noticed that the GM did not record Prestige / Fame ...

I know the feelings of the Community on how this should be handled and know how I would handle it

I am looking for some official Binding Comment on how First steps is handled from Either Mike or Mark so that we can put it into the Forum Binding Topic

if you

A play them out of order,
or
B don't play all of them (part 3 Specifically)

I know getting them to respond is sometimes difficult but on this one, as often as this comes up, I believe its needed

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

You can play First Steps in any order. You also don't have to play all of them. Your character just keeps advancing as normal.

Shadow Lodge *****

I assume by that statement that the official Word is that if you complete the missions listed in the scenario you gain the prestige / fame even if you don't play part 3 ?

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

Correct. You receive Fame and Prestige for each part of First Steps you play.

Shadow Lodge *****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

thank you :) request addition to

Compilation of message board clarifications for PFS Rulings.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Why did that need a clarification? No other series in the entire campaign requires anything outside of itself in order to get its rewards. Why would First Steps be any different?

Shadow Lodge *****

Jiggy wrote:
Why did that need a clarification? No other series in the entire campaign requires anything outside of itself in order to get its rewards. Why would First Steps be any different?

because aside from the very obscure clip from a Private message thread from Mark Moreland Mentioned in another thread ... this one as far as I am aware has never been Officially answered ... and it comes up enough ... and there are still GM's (I just had one today) who are handling it as if you get everything at the end of Part 3 .. and if I just had one today I refuse to believe hes the only one

and the Wording is ambiguous enough that its a Coin flip for the average Joe on which side of the stance he would take

Silver Crusade ***

Well, possibly because of this blurb in FS Part 1 page 4:

The three-part First Steps series is intended to introduce
new players and new characters from experienced players
to the Pathfinder Society, the city of Absalom, and the ten
factions to which all members of the Pathfinder Society
Organized Play campaign belong. While each adventure in
the series is a self-contained story, they are intended to be
played in order by brand-new PCs without any experience
or Prestige Points. At the end of the third scenario, A Vision
of Betrayal, after the PCs have met and done a favor for
all 10 faction heads, they will be able to choose their PCs’
allegiance and gain retroactive prestige for the completion
of the previous two scenarios.

This series may only be played at the normal advancement
rate of 3 XP per level, meaning a PC completing the series will
advance to 2nd level, making the character a bit more sturdy
for tiered adventuring in normal Pathfinder Society play.

And this on page 20:

Faction Missions
There are no faction-specific missions in this scenario,
as PCs playing through the First Steps series have not
yet chosen factions, so any PC who meets the scenario’s
success conditions earns a second Prestige Point for
completing the scenario. When a PC earns her third
Chronicle (after completing A Vision of Betrayal), all
previously earned prestige will be reported to her
chosen faction.

And no doubt similar ones in parts 2 & 3.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Touche'.

***

yea ive had the same issues before at multiple venues (including dragoncon, and cons in my own area) about this. it would be nice if those paragraphs were taken out of the first steps scenarios and just treat them as normal.

every time i have played them with a character, i already knew what faction i was going to be with that character. it just seems to over-complicate things.

Andoran *****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber

I have had the same thing come up many times as well. I have even had multiple VCs tell me they don't get Prestige until after playing Part 3.

It is one of those annoying mis information that just won't go away.

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Dragnmoon wrote:

I have had the same thing come up many times as well. I have even had multiple VCs tell me they don't get Prestige until after playing Part 3.

It is one of those annoying mis information that just won't go away.

A character earns two Prestige after each part of First Steps.

Andoran *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber

Another little tidbit,

Players in First Steps can spend Prestige using the TABLE 5–4: GENERIC PRESTIGE AWARDS from the PFS Guide.

Grand Lodge ***

I've never run parts 2 or 3, and have never played 3. Unless a GM is willing to devote himself to running all three for the same group, I don't see any reason why the PP would not be awarded for each. Just leave the faction line empty and fill it in later.

Or hell, since you can rewrite your character, including choosing a new faction, at any time before 2nd level, there is no reason why the GM should withhold the PP awards.

The only issues are in reporting the scenarios.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / First steps .. again All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.