Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Baleful Polymorph - Can the chicken talk?


Rules Questions


Hey guys,

Does failing your fortitude save but not the will save against Baleful Polymorph make you lose the ability to speak? (In the case of being polymorphed into something like a chicken or squirrel)

Thanks


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

No.

Even Druids need a feat to talk in Wildshape.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This^^^

As a GM I would rule that if you were turned into a raven or parrot that you could talk. However, no knowledgeable BBEG wizard is going to turn you into an animal that can talk and fly. That mistake is definitely on the Evil Overlord list.

Shadow Lodge

You don't have the vocal cords for speech, but you can still understand language and can communicate in other ways limited by your form. A chicken or squirrel could probably scratch our short written messages, or manipulate string or twigs to spell (slowly). This is helpful if you need to convince someone you're under a spell, if you're stuck in Polymorphed form for a few days while your allies dig up a Dispel Magic or Break Enchantment, or if you asked to be polymorphed for a few days while you avoid your creditors.

blackbloodtroll wrote:
Even Druids need a feat to talk in Wildshape.

And since that feat specifically calls our Wild Shape and not "under any polymorph effect," I'd assume a druid with this feat would still be unable to speak under Baleful Polymorph.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
Even Druids need a feat to talk in Wildshape.

Do you mean "talk" or "cast" while in wildshape? I though they only had the latter?


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Weirdo wrote:

You don't have the vocal cords for speech, but you can still understand language and can communicate in other ways limited by your form. A chicken or squirrel could probably scratch our short written messages, or manipulate string or twigs to spell (slowly). This is helpful if you need to convince someone you're under a spell, if you're stuck in Polymorphed form for a few days while your allies dig up a Dispel Magic or Break Enchantment, or if you asked to be polymorphed for a few days while you avoid your creditors.

blackbloodtroll wrote:
Even Druids need a feat to talk in Wildshape.
And since that feat specifically calls our Wild Shape and not "under any polymorph effect," I'd assume a druid with this feat would still be unable to speak under Baleful Polymorph.

True.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Rickmeister wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Even Druids need a feat to talk in Wildshape.

Do you mean "talk" or "cast" while in wildshape? I though they only had the latter?

There are two feats, each one addressing a different one of those issues.


Awesome. Thanks. The question mainly came up because the spell talked about you only losing the ability to cast spells only if you failed your will save... so if you're a chicken you can still cast spell but only if they're silent, still and have no material...or if the magic words are poc poc pocoq


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Are there even stats for a chicken?

That would be an awesome familiar.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Until you got hungry.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This reminds me of the mage who accidentally got himself polymorphed into a chicken in BG I. He talked, and it was a funny quest. This story has nothing to do with RAW though.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I say, I say, a Chanticleer familiar would be most agreeable.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
I say, I say, a Chanticleer familiar would be most agreeable.

Rockadooooodllllleeehoooooohoooo! :D

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Baleful Polymorph - Can the chicken talk? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.