Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Magic Item Caster level USE


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

I just wanted to make sure I was doing this right:

A level 20 Wizard using a Ring of Animal Friendship...

Ring says CL 3.

Does this mean the ring acts as CL 3 when used; i.e. Charm Animal as level 3...


Yes


Yes, the ring acts as CL 3. The save DC for the animal's Will save would be 10 + 1 (the spell level) + 1 (the minimum casting stat modifier needed to cast Charm Animal) = 12.

The wizard ONLY uses his own caster level when activating a staff. (Or a wand, if he has the wizard discovery "staff-like wand").

Otherwise, use the item's CL.


The CL of a magic item is also it's caster level for any spells it casts unless it states otherwise. Note: I do not remember seeing an example where it states otherwise but I guess it could happen.

Staffs are an exception to this in that they use the listed CL or the caster level of the user whichever is greater.

- Gauss


There are some class abilities that let you ignore that. Like the Songhealer archetype for bards, who can use Cure X Wounds wands at their own caster level a few times a day.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Magic Item Caster level USE All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.