Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Darkness and Darkvision


Rules Questions


Hey so I am planning a couple of encounters for my low level party and want to use Dark Creepers and Dark Stalkers for a couple of things. When I was going over the spell "Darkness" it makes no mention of darkvision being able to see through it, however when I was reading through "Deeper Darkness" it said that not even Darkvision can see through "Deeper Darkness" is this a misprint or something? I do have the first edition of the Core Rulebook and don't know if that is in any errata. This will be a key part to the encounter as they will be going through an underground passage to a dwarven city, led by dwarves, so if they can see through it it will really be helping the party out, as well as one half orc who is in the party, so this is pretty important. Again please let me know if Darkvision can see through Darkness but not Deeper Darkness. Thanks again!

Ruuak


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Darkvision is not hindered by the Darkness spell.

Darkvision is hindered by the Deeper Darkness spell.

Sovereign Court

There are five levels of light:

Bright > Normal > Dim > Darkness > Supernatural Darkness

The darkness spell brings the level of light down one step, but cannot take darkness to supernatural darkness.

The deeper darkness spell lowers the level of light down 2 steps and can create supernatural darkness.

Only supernatural darkness negates darkvision. At all other levels darkvision works normally.

Remember than no mundane light source functions within the area of any darkness spell so when you throw it up ignore torches, lanterns, candles, etc unless they are magical light based off a spell with the [light] descriptor AND is a higher level than the darkness spell cast.

--I wanna Vrock. VROCK!


Ok that is what is meant, thank you very much! This will help in explaining things. I am somewhat new to GMing and I am playing with players who have never played before so I want to make sure the rules I give them are correct.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Darkness and Darkvision All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.