Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Crafting a magic item


Rules Questions


Example is Belt of strength +2,+4,+6. Requires the spell bulls strength to make.

To make an item do I need the spell available?
i.e. Can someone else cast the spell other than myself?

Or can I just increase the DC by 5 for crafting the item even if I do NOT have the spell available.

Also what if i have say a potion of bulls strength. Does the DC stay the same now?

Or does it still go up 5 because I didnt have the spell memorized to cast.


A scroll would work, but not a potion. You can increase the DC by 5 per prerequisite, but you must have the proper feat and caster level.


To my knowledge, a potion, scroll or wand wouldnt work. Since they all emulate the functions of the spell, so its pretty clear that you cannot craft them without the spell, by increasing the DC as per RAW. Thanks for the input though. :)

Anyone know if this applies to wondrous items, and rods as well?


You don't need the proper caster level. You don't even need to be a caster. CL just sets the craft DC of the item.

Yes you can craft an item without the spell. Each spell required that you do not provide will increase the craft DC by 5.

The only thing you need is the proper craft feat.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items#TOC-Magic-Item-Creation


SRD wrote:
In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting its prerequisites.

Well, by RAW, I think that's just scrolls, potions, and wands. Wondrous items usually use command word or use-activation, which is in a separate category on the chart for Magic Item Creation, so I think you can make any of those without the spells if you can make the crafting DC. Metamagic rods I think can be made without the metamagic feats they give. I'm not sure if rods and staves that cast spells are spell-trigger, spell-completion, or use-activated.


Thanks guys. Just making sure it was legal. :)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Crafting a magic item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.