Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Help with Archetype Stacking


Rules Questions


I was playing around with some builds in HeroLab when I noticed that the program allows the Cleric's Crusader & Undead Lord archetypes to stack with each other. Is this possible? Crusader only changes the Domain feature while Undead Lord replaces it. In reading the text I can see how the two could work together but I thought you couldn't use two archetypes that modify the same feature. I'd like an outside opinion to see if this is possible. It sounds like a fun character to me.

Thanks


I'd say it is allowed, as the crusader reduces the cleric to one domain, you can still make that one domain the death(undeath) domain the undead lord needs. just remember to abide by the rest of the domain change rules on spells/day


According to the rules, it doesn't work if the same feature is altered by two different archetypes.

Ultimate Magic, Ultimate Combat wrote:
A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the base class as another alternate class feature.
Advanced Player's Guide wrote:
A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the core class as another alternate class feature. For example, a paladin could not be both a hospitaler and an undead scourge since they both modify the smite evil class feature and both replace the aura of justice class feature. A paladin could, however, be both an undead scourge and a warrior of the holy light, since none of their new class features replace the same core class feature.

That said, if your GM allows it, then go for it.

Grand Lodge

My understanding is you cannot use two archetypes that REPLACE the same feature. If one modifies a feature, and one replaces the same feature I would be okay with it. The one modifying the feature will be replaced anyway, so you aren't getting both features.

*edit*

Okay by the rules I suppose no. But what difference does it make if one replaces another that is modified.

I would say you cannot take two that are altered. But if one replaces an altered one it is okay.


Krome wrote:
I would say you cannot take two that are altered. But if one replaces an altered one it is okay.

Often altered abilities are weaker than the original ability.

So taking an archetype that alters an ability, making it weaker and another one who replace that weaker power you would use the same ability twice to pay for other, more powerful abilities.
That's why it isn't allowed.

I don't know if that'S the case here but that is the reason for the rule as I get it.

For example the stonelord paladin gets earth channel instead of chennel energy, which is weaker that the original. Lets assume he gets a buff somewhere else for this trade. If he now took another archetype that replaces channel energy he would not lose much because earth channel is already weak.

In the end he would end up using channel energy twice to pay for other, stronger abilities.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Help with Archetype Stacking All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.