Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Ultimate Equipment and Crits


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hey Patholes, I was reading UE, and on page 134 under the bold heading
"Magic Weapons and Critical Hits"
it says the following:
"Some weapon qualities and some specific weapons have an extra effect on a critical hit. This special effect also functions against creatures not normally subject to critical hits. On a successful critical roll, apply the special effect, but do not multiply the weapons regular damage."

Am i reading this right? Will my Icy Burst longbow, on a crit, with +2 enchant bonus, do 1d8 +2 +1d6 +2d10?
I've always played with you get your normal crit plus this icy burst damage, so 3d8 +6 +1d6 +2d10.

The mind, it boggles!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That is the same as in the PRD... huh.


It specifically says "against creatures not normally subject to critical hits". Or in other words, a creature that's immune to critical hits. The last sentence simply explains how you would roll damage in the situation where you get a critical hit against a creature that can't be affected by critical hits.

That's the reason you wouldn't multiply the regular weapon damage.

The special ability, however, still works as per the above quote, despite the critical hit itself being negated.

(which, by the way, is something I didn't know)


That makes sense. While reading it I couldn't believe what I was seeing, but I suppose the sentences after 'creatures not normally subject' apply only in that case, and not all the time.
I guess this makes the burst line of weapon enchants a little more useful?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Ultimate Equipment and Crits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.