Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

In PFS if I run the same Tier 1-3 mod 3 times do I only get one experience point?


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Grand Lodge *** Venture-Lieutenant, Florida—Jacksonville aka Baronjett

Also if I play in the module and then run it do I get any "in game" bonuses? Thanks all!

Sczarni ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Pullman aka Coraith

The only scenarios/modules you can play/run multiple times and get credit for each time are the Tier 1 scenarios/modules.

Current Tier 1 material available for play:
First steps 1, 2 & 3
Crypt of the Everflame
Master of the Fallen Fortress
We Be Goblins!

If you GM a scenario/modules you receive all boons on the chronicle sheet.

Shadow Lodge *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber
Coraith wrote:

The only scenarios/modules you can play/run multiple times and get credit for each time are the Tier 1 scenarios/modules.

Current Tier 1 material available for play:
First steps 1, 2 & 3
Crypt of the Everflame
Master of the Fallen Fortress
We Be Goblins!

If you GM a scenario/modules you receive all boons on the chronicle sheet.

And Godsmouth Heresy, Murder's Mark, and the first Thornkeep dungeon.

Grand Lodge *** Venture-Lieutenant, Florida—Jacksonville aka Baronjett

Hmmm, so If I run We be Goblins three times I can start a new PFS character at 2nd level? Or would that be three expo spread between three characters?

Cheliax ****

You can only have the same chronicle once per character, no matter what.

While We Be Goblins! is a great time, I would recommend trying different things as much as possible. Avoid the urge to grind! :)

Shadow Lodge

Ok, let's clarify a few things. There are 2 different types of basic adventures run through PFS, scenarios and modules. Scenarios run about 3-5 hours and award 1 xp. Modules tend to take all day, (sometimes 2 days depending on the gm and the event), and award 3 xp.

The only scenarios that can be run multiple times are the 3 first steps scenarios. These can be run as many times as you want, but each one can only give credit to any given character once.
Example : Bob the fighter is level 1. He runs the 3 first steps scenarios and reaches level 2. Bob has now received the only credit he will ever get from these scenarios. Bob's player, however, can get credit for all 3 scenarios a second time, but only if he uses a new 1st level character.

All 1-3 modules (and most modules in general) reward 3 xps upon completion. Again, these can be run as many times as you want for full credit, but you have to use a different character each time.
Example : Our stalwart Bob the fighter runs through Murder's Mark, a 1-2 level module. At the end, he gets 3 xps and reaches the next level. Bob has now received the only credit he will ever get for this module. Bob's player can run the module as many times as he likes, but he has to use a new character of the appropriate level each time.

All other scenarios can be run exactly twice by any player. Once as a player, and once as a GM. That's it. Doesn't matter how many different characters you have, you can only get credit twice. Period.
Example : Bob the fighter plays a tier 1-5 module. He completes it and gets credit for 1 xp. Bob's player later GMs the same scenario, and gets an additional chronicle sheet, this one (usually, but not always) specialized with some GM only rewards. This is all the credit that Bob's player can ever get for this scenario. Ever. He can run it as many times with as many different characters as he wants, but he will never get more than 2 chronicle sheets for it.

These are the chronicle rules as they were explained to me when I joined up. I have verified these rules from several sources including the Guide to Organized Play, the website for my local PFS chapter, and a number of venture lieutenants, venture captains, and even a dev or 2, right here on these boards, so I'm pretty sure I've got them correct.

Hope that helps. Good luck to you and welcome to the Pathfinder Society.

Have a nice day.

Andoran ***

2 people marked this as a favorite.

@Deadrender: Close, but not entirely correct.

NB: No PC can receive credit for the same module or scenario more than once.

First Steps Scenarios: Each one can be played or GMed for credit for a first level PC as often as you want. Note that these scenarios can only be credited to a PC who is on the normal advancement track.

First Steps, Part 1: In Service to Lore
First Steps, Part 2: To Delve the Dungeon Deep
First Steps, Part 3: A Vision of Betrayal
Each gives 1 XP and 2 PP, along with 400-500 gold apiece

First level modules (Tier 1-2, not 1-3): Can be played or GMed for credt as many times as you want, as long as the credit is awarded to a first level PC. Note that that first level PC could have XP, as long as they don't have enough XP to reach 2nd level.

You can play each of these modules once for credit with a 2nd level PC, and assign credit as a GM once to a 2nd level PC. As ever, any particular PC can only have credit for a module once.

Crypt of the Everflame
Murder's Mark
The Godsmouth Heresy
Thornkeep: The Accursed Halls
Each gives up to 3 XP and 4 PP, along with around 1200-1500 gp apiece

Free RPG Day modules (Tier 1-2, not 1-3): Can be played or GMed for credt as many times as you want, as long as the credit is awarded to a first level PC. Note that that first level PC could have XP, as long as they don't have enough XP to reach 2nd level.

You can play each of these modules once for credit with a 2nd level PC, and assign credit as a GM once to a 2nd level PC. As ever, any particular PC can only have credit for a module once.

Master of the Fallen Fortress
We Be Goblins!
Each gives 1 XP and 1 PP, along with about 500 gp apiece.

Also, because of changes to GM credit as of the Guide v4.2, GMs are allowed to take the boons from a scenario or module, as well. GMs do NOT get to do Day Job rolls on GM credit chronicles. No one gets to do Day Job rolls on any module chronicles.

Addition: When you play a game, whether scenario or module, with one of the PFS legal pregens, you have two options as to how to apply the chronicle for that game.
1) Hold the chronicle for character X, who gains that chronicle in his pile with full XP, GP, PP and boons, as well as access, when the PC reaches the same level as the pregen used (4th or 7th, 5th in one special exception)
2) Apply the chronicle as the first XP-gaining chronicle for a new PC, lowering the gold to 500 (1 XP scenarios & modules) or 1398 (3 XP modules), but getting full XP and PP.

Note that the above numbers would be halved if your PC is using the slow advancement option.

Note that XP, PP and gold gained are dependent on performance. The GM always gets maximum for his credited PC. Players might not complete all encounters, or find all the items of value, and not obtain full gold, or, if they don't get to all sessions, XP, PP and GP get prorated.

Shadow Lodge

Kinevon. Thank you. I had forgotten about the 2nd level rule and the pregen rule.

I hate finding out I'm not perfect. Kills the buzz. :)

Andoran ***

Deadrender wrote:

Kinevon. Thank you. I had forgotten about the 2nd level rule and the pregen rule.

I hate finding out I'm not perfect. Kills the buzz. :)

Nobody is perfect. All we can do is do the best we can, and, when we can, practice, since that makes perfect. ;)

Oh, and make sure you listen to others, since they may have something of value to impart. Wish I listened better. Then again, wish my players would sometimes say something besides, "Great Game." and include some feedback on where I could do better next time.

At least, when it happens, I am willing to let the Diplo-monkeys turn the BBEG encounter into a schmooze fest. Happened to my archer in Slave Pits of Absolom, and now it happened to my Magus during On Hostile Waters.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / In PFS if I run the same Tier 1-3 mod 3 times do I only get one experience point? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.