Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Outsiders vs positive / negative energy effects ?


Rules Questions


Do outsiders count as "living" creatures in regards to positive and negative energy effects ?

The wording of the Alignment channel feat almost makes it sound as if they are not normally effected by channeled energy....

What about cure/inflict spells....do these effect outsiders as living beings ?


nighttree wrote:
Do outsiders count as "living" creatures in regards to positive and negative energy effects ?

Yes they are.

Quote:
The wording of the Alignment channel feat almost makes it sound as if they are not normally effected by channeled energy....

Alignment Channel grants an option to perform channel energy that affect only Outsiders of specific alignment subtype. Allowing either healing or harming them. It in no way implies that regular Channel Energy cannot affect them.

Quote:
What about cure/inflict spells....do these effect outsiders as living beings ?

Yes. Anything that has Constitution score is living being and is affected by cure and inflict spells unless it has specific abilities changing that general rule.


Drejk wrote:
nighttree wrote:
Do outsiders count as "living" creatures in regards to positive and negative energy effects ?

Yes they are.

Quote:
The wording of the Alignment channel feat almost makes it sound as if they are not normally effected by channeled energy....

Alignment Channel grants an option to perform channel energy that affect only Outsiders of specific alignment subtype. Allowing either healing or harming them. It in no way implies that regular Channel Energy cannot affect them.

Quote:
What about cure/inflict spells....do these effect outsiders as living beings ?
Yes. Anything that has Constitution score is living being and is affected by cure and inflict spells unless it has specific abilities changing that general rule.

MANY thanks...we got into a bit of a debate....in part because 3.5 had specific spells for healing outsiders, as they where not effected by the normal "cure" spells.


nighttree wrote:
MANY thanks...we got into a bit of a debate....in part because 3.5 had specific spells for healing outsiders, as they where not effected by the normal "cure" spells.

Uh? Outsiders were affected by cure spells normally in 3.5. Someone in your group must have confused the fact that outsiders cannot be revived by normal means for being unable to be healed (or took some house ruling for general rule).

It works in Pathfinder more or less the same as in 3.5:

Quote:
Unlike most living creatures, an outsider does not have a dual nature—its soul and body form one unit. When an outsider is slain, no soul is set loose. Spells that restore souls to their bodies, such as raise dead, reincarnate, and resurrection, don't work on an outsider. It takes a different magical effect, such as limited wish, wish, miracle, or true resurrection to restore it to life. An outsider with the native subtype can be raised, reincarnated, or resurrected just as other living creatures can be.


Quote:
MANY thanks...we got into a bit of a debate....in part because 3.5 had specific spells for healing outsiders, as they where not effected by the normal "cure" spells.

Outsiders could be healed with normal spells in 3.5, as well. Constructs couldn't and they did have their own set of spells to repair them.

All living creatures, humanoid, animal, angel, or demon, are healed with the standard Cure spells. Constructs aren't, and undead are healed with Inflict spells.

Grand Lodge

What's always confused me about Alignment Channel is you need to take it twice if you want to heal good outsiders and harm evil outsiders (or vice versa). Instead you take it once and you can harm your chosen aligned outsider one round then heal it the next.

Qadira

yeah, asked it a while back, SKR said anything with a Con score is a "living" creature, and is effected by channel positive energy.

Align channel is nice if you're an army of living things, fighting an army of Evil things. you can use it to spam energy to harm the Evil outsiders but leave everyone else around you okay.

It does boggle the mind that you can't take a single feat to either harm Evil outsiders or heal Good outsider, but you could probably Selective Channel and heal the good guys with you anyway.


If you can already heal outsiders with channel in the first place....why would you need a second feat to do so ???

Just take alignment channel to damage evil outsiders....and you can allready heal good outsiders....or am I missing something ?


nighttree wrote:

If you can already heal outsiders with channel in the first place....why would you need a second feat to do so ???

Just take alignment channel to damage evil outsiders....and you can allready heal good outsiders....or am I missing something ?

Say you are a cleric, and have angel allies with you. You are fighting demons. If you use normal channel energy to heal, you would heal all living beings in the area. Both your angel allies, and demon enemies.

You would need either Selective Channeling (to not target the demons too), or Alignment Channel. Selective Channeling can only remove some of the creatures in the area (up to your Charisma bonus), so Alignment Channel may be more beneficial in this situation.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Outsiders vs positive / negative energy effects ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.