Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Monkey Shine and flanking


Rules Questions


Aside from the bonuses mentioned in the feat, does Monkey Shine allow for flanking bonuses while occupying a foe's square? Does this change if they are larger than you (that is, can you flank a square within an opponents square)?

Star Voter 2015

No, flanking only works if you're on opposite edges or corners. If you're in his square, you're not in the opposite edge or corner.


I wonder if I was the only person that thought you were arguing with yourself...

Star Voter 2015

Don't think I wasn't freaked out at first to see a topic I had apparently posted without realizing. This is honestly the first time I've seen someone else use this avatar.


I've seen you around a lot. We've commented on the same thread before. Should I change it?

Further question: While inside a foe's square, if that foe's square could be flanking another foe with another PC, does it flank?

Example: I stunning fist mister evil magus and enter his square. Next to mister evil magus is miss scary fighter. My buddy the ranger is on the other side of miss scary fighter. Is the fighter flanked?

And further, this is just me parsing the sentence too fine, but does the dodge bonus to AC only apply to the foe who's square you occupy or is it a blanket bonus and you only get plus for on attack rolls against your new close friend?

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Dedicated Voter 2013, Star Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

Where is the Monkey Shine feat from?

Shadow Lodge

Monkey Shine

Pharmalade wrote:
Example: I stunning fist mister evil magus and enter his square. Next to mister evil magus is miss scary fighter. My buddy the ranger is on the other side of miss scary fighter. Is the fighter flanked?

You still threaten miss scary fighter and you and the ranger are on opposite squares, so yes.

Pharmalade wrote:
And further, this is just me parsing the sentence too fine, but does the dodge bonus to AC only apply to the foe who's square you occupy or is it a blanket bonus and you only get plus for on attack rolls against your new close friend?

I think this is too-fine parsing and both benefits apply only against the opponent whose square you share. I'm not 100% sure, though.

Star Voter 2015

Pharmalade wrote:
I've seen you around a lot. We've commented on the same thread before. Should I change it?

No, don't be silly--there's a limited number of avatars, I just thought nobody else liked this one. Crap, look at how many crows, rats holding books, and that atog-looking monster thing there are. You're supposed to repeat avatars.

Pharmalade wrote:
Further question: While inside a foe's square, if that foe's square could be flanking another foe with another PC, does it flank?

Yes.

Pharmalade wrote:
And further, this is just me parsing the sentence too fine, but does the dodge bonus to AC only apply to the foe who's square you occupy or is it a blanket bonus and you only get plus for on attack rolls against your new close friend?

I'm pretty sure you get +4 to AC in general, and +4 to attacks specifically against that foe.

The evidence is both the sentence structure itself and the fact that an AC bonus "against that opponent" doesn't really make much sense in game terms.

Shadow Lodge

Well, it's hard to attack someone who is that close up in your personal space, so I can see the bonus applying to only the single opponent.

On the other hand, it's also reasonable to read it as a form of cover that the opponent is providing against all attacks.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Monkey Shine and flanking All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.