Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Neutral Cleric Spell Choice


Rules Questions


Can a neutral cleric cast any good or evil type spells, or does the player need to make a choice at the beginning (good or evil) to determine which spells are available?

I thought the player had to make a choice, but I don't see where it says that concerning spells.


A neutral cleric will need to decide between good and evil. But I think that choice only determines whether they channel negative or positive energy and if they can spontaneously cast cure or inflict spells.


Yeah, I saw that cleric said:

"A cleric can't cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her deity's (if she has one). Spells associated with particular
alignments are indicated by the chaotic, evil, good, and lawful descriptors in their spell descriptions."

Just wondering if a neutral cleric that worships a neutral deity just pretty much ignores this rule.


yes they do. paizo buffed the neutral cleric quite a bit from 3.5.

Grand Lodge

A neutral cleric whose deity is neutral can cast both good and evil spells.

As Some Random Dood mentioned, this cleric has the choice whether to spontaneously cast cure spells and channel positive energy, or spontaneously cast inflict spells and channel negative energy (but none of these four acts is in itself good or evil and any cleric can use cure or inflict as prepared spells).

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Neutral Cleric Spell Choice All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.