Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Rhino Hide and Spirited Charge / Criticals


Rules Questions


Rhino Hide grants +2d6 additional damage on charges, including mounted charges.

A critical, using a lance on a charge, and spirited charge multiplies your damage. It does not multiply additional damage from weapon special abilities or sneak attack.

Rhino Hide is neither precision nor a weapon special ability.

This leads me to believe that the additional damage from rhino hide multiplies on a critical etc. However, I'm not sure whether this is correct by RAW.

Liberty's Edge

I think the spirit of the rules would have that damage being treated the same as the extra damage from weapon qualities, however the RAW seems to allow that damage to be multiplied on a crit. I'd probably allow it.


Bonus dice of damage never multiply on a crit (or other forms of multiplying, like a bracing weapon). At least, that was the rule in 3E. For all I know it's changed in PF, though...


it doesn't multiply the Rhino Hide damage. crits multiply weapon damage and flat damage mods (non-precision).
check what it says in the damage sub-section of attack rolls (which is not quite the same as the nearly-identical section on critical hits bizarrely located in the 'attack action' section... obviously Paizo was REALLY crunched for word/page-count since they're repeating such similar information in close proximity to each other)

Quote:

Multiplying Damage: Sometimes you multiply damage by some factor, such as on a critical hit. Roll the damage (with all modifiers) multiple times and total the results.

Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage.
Exception: Extra damage dice over and above a weapon's normal damage are never multiplied.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

since the 'multiplying damage' section is SO similar to the info on multiplying Crits (one has clear statement about ANY 'extra damage dice', the other has rule about flat precison damage mods), i would make a request to Paizo to MERGE the two sections... this saves space, and reduces confusion (AFAIK there isn't intended to be two separate rules for Crits vs. other cases of Multipled Damage, the only difference being Precision Damage since Crits also count as Multiplied Damage themself). The saved word-count may even fulfill the editing goal of Errata not affecting 'page # references', possibly enabling all the sub-sections on Unarmed, Natural Attacks, Crits, Ranged, etc., to be moved from the Attack Action (where they don't really belong) to the Attack Roll section (where they obviously do)... Although I'm not sure if the page # reference thing is the issue that has held up that piece of Errata.

i'm hitting FAQ on this.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Rhino Hide and Spirited Charge / Criticals All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.