Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Divine Bond and the Hard Enhancement Cap


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

The text of divine bond explicitly says that it cannot bypass the +5 enhancement bonus cap of a weapon. However, the rules also say that a non-epic weapon can only have a total effective enhancement bonus of +10, but this is not mentioned in the divine bond text.

My question is does the divine bond ability allow the paladin to exceed this cap, or is any enhancement above and beyond the +10 cap effectively wasted?


Divine bond works just like enchanting a weapon, so it maxes out at +10, but 5 of that is used for stuff like flaming and speed.

It's all right there on the SRD >.>

Silver Crusade

Well, my point was that divine bond explicitly says it cannot exceed the +5 Cap but makes no mention of the +10 cap. I'm just curious because if a Paladin's weapon can't be enhanced beyond +10, I'm not sure it's really worth it for a Paladin to have more than +4 bonus to their weapon without Divine Bond.


the +5 cap is for normal non magical effect enhancement. So that way you don't end up with a paladin getting a +5 weapon and then dumping his divine bond into more enhancement to get a +11 weapon.

I thought it was pretty clear so yeah no real point on getting a weapon beyond +4 via money unless you want those bonuses 24/7

Silver Crusade

Ok, let me put it this way:

A weapon has two limits:

the enhancement bonus cannot exceed +5.

The total effective enhancement bonus cannot exceed +10.

Therefore, a weapon could be +5 Vorpal, but not +5 Vorpal, Speed because that would be an effective enhancement bonus of +13.

A paladin can give a weapon at max level a +6 effective enhancement bonus through flat enhancement bonuses and effective abilities.

Now, the rule explicitly states that a paladin's enhancement may not exceed the +5 cap.

Therefore, a paladin cannot turn a +2 weapon into a +8 weapon. He can make something like a +5 Holy Keen, but not a +8

However, the divine bond rules are silent as to whether a paladin's power can exceed the +10 effective enhancement bonus cap.

For example: A paladin has a +5 Vorpal Sword. Can he then give it Brilliant Energy and Holy?

Common sense would suggest no, that's simply too powerful.

However, it bothers me that the divine bond rules explicitly invoke the +5 cap but not the +10 cap.


From the Magic Items section:

"A single weapon cannot have a modified bonus (enhancement bonus plus special ability bonus equivalents, including those from character abilities and spells) higher than +10." (emphasis mine)

Sorry, you're out of luck.

Silver Crusade

I was never really hoping that it did exceed the cap, I was just looking for the rules text that said so, since the divine bond power didn't call it out.

thx for that though.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Divine Bond and the Hard Enhancement Cap All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.