Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

GM credit and proper paperwork


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Lantern Lodge ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey folks, I have a question regarding having proper paperwork handy for GM credit. When you GM a scenario or module and apply that credit to a character, is the GM session sheet which denotes what character you applied the credit too sufficient alone, or should you also apply and keep the appropriate chronicle sheet along with the session sheet?

If the later, how should one note that they received credit for the chronicle sheet via GM credit? Would it be legit enough to simply note it at the bottom where the GM information goes?

Thanks in advance for the clarifications!

Grand Lodge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Canada—Winnipeg aka NoStrings

You must have the chronicle sheet any time you apply credit, whether that is player credit or GM credit.

You don't really need to write anything on the chronicle to denote that it is GM credit. It will have the same Society number for character (at the top) and GM (in the grey at the bottom).

Lantern Lodge ***

Thanks for the fast reply Myron, much appreciated.

Grand Lodge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Canada—Winnipeg aka NoStrings

Lormyr wrote:
Thanks for the fast reply Myron, much appreciated.

You're welcome!

To clarify a bit further, when you GM, you give yourself a chronicle sheet just as if you had played the scenario with that character. You get maximum gold, 1 XP, and 2 PP (or half that for slow advancement track) for the tier that is appropriate for your character—which is not necessarily the tier at which you ran the scenario. You do not get a day job check, but you do get any of the boons on the chronicle, and access to any items for the appropriate tier.

You can also apply the credit to a lower–level character. In this case, you don't get access to the chronicle until your character reaches the level of the lowest sub–tier of the scenario. For instance, say you ran #3-06: Song of the Sea Witch, which is tier 3–7. You don't have any characters in that range, so you apply credit to a second–level character. As soon as that character hits third level, the chronicle for Song of the Sea Witch is immediately applied.

Lantern Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Spokane

Thanks for the clarification on this as well as the day job checks for GM credit as I did not know they could not be taken if you GM the scenario.

Qadira ****

I'm still a little saddened by this ruling.. but also of note.

If the character you are applying credit to is in between sub-tiers; you must apply it at the lower sub-tier.

Ex: If you run a 5-9 (Sub-Tiers 5-6, and 8-9) with a level 7 character. You must apply the 5-6 sub-tier.

I want to be able to hold the credit and apply it once they hit 8, but such is not the rule.

Lantern Lodge ***

I was aware of the the scenarios being able to be applied at any applicable tier for any applicable character, but I do appreciate the heads up on the other items of note.

When you GM a sanctioned module, you gain the full 3 xp and 4 pp as the players as well, correct?

Likewise with the rare scenario that awards more than 1 xp (such as eyes of the ten part I), you gain that full xp as well yes?

Grand Lodge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Canada—Winnipeg aka NoStrings

Benrislove wrote:

If the character you are applying credit to is in between sub-tiers; you must apply it at the lower sub-tier.

Ex: If you run a 5-9 (Sub-Tiers 5-6, and 8-9) with a level 7 character. You must apply the 5-6 sub-tier.

I knew I missed something. Thanks!

This is to compensate for the fact that if you are GMing, your character doesn't have to expend any resources or consumables, and doesn't take the risk of dying (and the associated resurrection costs).

Lormyr wrote:

When you GM a sanctioned module, you gain the full 3 xp and 4 pp as the players as well, correct?

Likewise with the rare scenario that awards more than 1 xp (such as eyes of the ten part I), you gain that full xp as well yes?

These are both correct statements. There are also some scenarios that only give one PP—even to GMs. Eg: We Be Goblins! & Master of the Fallen Fortress.

Lantern Lodge ***

Good deal, thanks again folks!

Andoran ***

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Modules Subscriber

Related question:

Spoiler:
Murder on the Throaty Mermaid:
As GM, what items do you get access to from the murderer section of the sheet? For players, it is easy, what their killer is listed for. But for the GM?

Grand Lodge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Canada—Winnipeg aka NoStrings

kinevon wrote:

Related question:

** spoiler omitted **

Spoiler:
This is just off the top of my head, but I would assume you get access only to the items for the actual murderer, same as the players.

Grand Lodge ***

Related question:

When you GM and give yourself a chronicle sheet, who signs that sheet? With my local group, when I run something my VC has either signed my GM credit or has had one of the other GMs in our group sign it. But I just started playing online, and realized there is no one who can sign my sheet but me as I'm the only one who can. I'm I supposed to be signing my own sheets for GM credit?

Silver Crusade **

I've always signed my own chronicles for GM credit. Frequently, we're playing in a home setting where there's no other GM there.

Grand Lodge **

Dust Raven wrote:
I'm I supposed to be signing my own sheets for GM credit?

Yes, you're the GM, so you sign Chronicles that you award for the session.

****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As Starglim noted, you sign your own sheets.

I kind of want to get all the VCs to send Mike their GM chronicles for signatures now.

Taldor *** Venture-Captain, Oklahoma—Tulsa aka Rob Duncan

As much as I would like Mike Brock to sign my sheets (I'd probably frame them or something for some nerd street cred), I can't imagine how he would have the time or interest in doing it.

I trust GMs to be on their honor and think Mike has a good system in place; it certainly beats running around having to sign sheets from events at opposite ends of the state!

Spoiler:

(Honestly.. Anybody could make up four phantom friends with four fake email addresses and four Paizo.com registrations, buy scenarios, "run" a game that never happened, report the non-existent game and stack up craploads of GM credit. All they're doing is missing out on the fun of running a game, pushing themselves to a higher tier and skewing Mike's number in /favor/ of showing more PFS games happened than actually did, not less. )

To the best of my knowledge, this system is not a problem. I'm okay with you signing your own sheet. ^_^

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

Eh, Mike's "signature" is just a couple of squiggly lines anyway, it wouldn't take him much time to do it. I had to ask who had the number on the Gen Con boons to figure out it was his signature. ;)

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
Eh, Mike's "signature" is just a couple of squiggly lines anyway, it wouldn't take him much time to do it. I had to ask who had the number on the Gen Con boons to figure out it was his signature. ;)

Blame all the paperwork I had to do for 10 years before this job. After awhile, it is just, meh, whatever. I do have a much more legible signature, but that is saved for when I finally become famous ;-)

Grand Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You mean when you get that fifth star? ;)

Osirion

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Cards, Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Who decides if Mike gets his fifth star?

Does he have to prove himself, by killing Ostog the Unslain?

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

Snorter wrote:

Does he have to prove himself, by killing Ostog the Unslain?

And here I was thinking it was going to be a difficult task *rolls eyes*

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I think he should need the approval of every current 5-star GM.

Cheliax ****

Kyle Baird wrote:
I think he should need the approval of every current 5-star GM.

Then we just need to ask if Mike has the power to demote 5-star GMs.

Qadira ****

mike really should be a 6-star GM.

Grand Lodge *****

kinevon wrote:

Related question:

** spoiler omitted **

Spoiler:
I believe for GM credit you can choose which killer you want. Then just take their stuff.

For GM credit you are not tied to the game you ran. There is a primary killer the scenario uses, so if you don't want to decide, go with that NPC.

When filling out Chronicles for GM credit, I write "GM Credit" below my signature. This is to make an audit of my Chronicles by another GM easier when they come across it. And to help me when I do a personal audit to compare my online records.

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Kyle Baird wrote:
I think he should need the approval of every current 5-star GM.

Trial by combat?

Kyle Baird, I choose you!

Shadow Lodge ***

Don Walker wrote:
kinevon wrote:

Related question:

** spoiler omitted **
** spoiler omitted **

Spoiler:
Mark Moreland previously said GM rewards are dependent on the murderer here.
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / GM credit and proper paperwork All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.