Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Elemental subtype and immunity / vulnerability


Rules Questions


I think to have read that a creature with an elementals subtype (for example earth) was immune to energy connected with his element (in this case acid) and a vulnerability to the opposite energy (I guess that would be electricity).
Is that right? I didn't find it, when I looked for it now.
If so, how does that interact with resistances the creature might have or might gain by another template?

Let's look at a celestial earth elemental?
It has the earth subtype and a resistance to electricity (the amount depends on its hit dice). In the case of a small celestial earth elemental it would be Resistance electricity 5, if I remember right?

So if a creature with vulnerability electricity and resistance electricity 5 is hit by a shocking grasp dealing 10 damage, how much damage will that deal?
Is the resistance counted in first or the vulnerability?


No info on this?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules Subscriber

I would apply the same set of rules as with other cases of Elemental Resistance and Vulnerability:
Calculate post-save damage. Deduct Energy Resistance. Multiply by 1.5 for Vulnerability. Done, and done.

This having been said, I cannot find any rule stating an elemental subtype automagically granting immunity to the associated energy, plus vulnerability to the opposite.

The fire subtype does. The cold subtype does. Neither of the two are necessarily Elemental subtypes (say hello to Mr. Frost Giant).


i don't think this rule applies, but 'if it did', it wouldn't be hard to resolve.
paizo addressed a similar case, that one of their AP villains had both vulnerability to an energy type and resistance to it (via spell),
which of course makes sense for a creature with vulnerability to do (have said spell cast).
in such a case, the energy damage must first get thru the resistance, and any that actually applies to the creature is increased 50%, as per vulnerability.


Thanks fo the answers.

So I get the earth elemental (earth subtype) does not have immunity to acid or vulerability electricity.
But if something has both resistance and vulnerability the resistance applies first.

Good to know.
Thanks again.


Pathfinder Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If it can help you
FAQ CRB


Ok, I guess that was where I got this idea from.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Elemental subtype and immunity / vulnerability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.