Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Flatfooted targets of combat maneuvers


Rules Questions


You can't take an AoO if you are flatfooted.

So if you try a combat maneuver on someone who is flatfooted (let's say they haven't acted yet at the beginning of combat) they can't get an AoO on you for doing so, right? So if you get the init, you can get a free chance to Bull Rush or Overrun etc, without their attacking you. Seems like they'd also be denied Dex to CMD.

Please correct me if I am wrong about any of these assumptions.

Okay. Now what about a combat maneuver like Overrun? This allows the target to choose to step out of the way. They can't get an AoO, but can they choose to step out of the way if they are flatfooted?

Thanks!
Prawn


That is correct, unless they have combat reflexes, and then they can take an AoO.


So no AoO, but can they still choose to step out of the way of the overrun if they are flatfooted?


PRD wrote:
Flat-Footed: A character who has not yet acted during a combat is flat-footed, unable to react normally to the situation. A flat-footed character loses his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any) and cannot make attacks of opportunity.

Yes they can because nothing in the Flat-Footed description (RAW)prevents it. You are surprised and your reflexes are slow (no DEX) but you still can act instinctively to avoid damage etc. Reflexe saves, immediate actions, raise your shield (for the shield AC bonus) etc. are other examples.


Thanks!

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Flatfooted targets of combat maneuvers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.