Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Grappling in Pathfinder


Rules Questions


hi all,

I have just been reading grapple rules and there's something I cannot quite understand: the actions you can make when winning a grapple check, i.e. move, damage, pin or tie-up, can only be performed if you are the active grappler? (the one that started the grapple). So, if the other combatant wants to perform one of this actions, he has to beat the previous grappler in a check and then become the active grapple himself?

I am a little bit confused about this...

Sczarni

Correct. This can actually go back and forth. Take two characters who both have a high CMB but low CMD. PC A grapples PC B and wins. PC A controls the grapple. On PC B's turn they get to roll a CMB check. He beats PC A's CMD and is now in control of the grapple. He has the option of either breaking the grapple and acting normally or maintaining control of the grapple and taking one of the actions you mentioned.

Disclaimer: I didn't actually look the specifics up before I posted so please don't take this as RAW as far as action costs and abilities go. I'm simply confirming you have the right idea. I don't know off the top of my head if maintaining a grapple is a standard action, move action, if you can maintain and still take your full turn, etc.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules Subscriber

Read 'grappled' again. Someone who is 'grappled' (on the receiving end) can still make a full round attack with the conditions and penalties for being grappled. The only one locked out of actions is the 'grappler.'

Sczarni

The grappler isn't locked out of actions. They're subject to the same penalties as the person they're grappling, they simply have more options because they're in control of the grapple.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Corren28 wrote:
The grappler isn't locked out of actions. They're subject to the same penalties as the person they're grappling, they simply have more options because they're in control of the grapple.

You and I have a differing opinion of locked out then. A grappler has a reduced list of what they can do, what is listed in grappling. Someone who is grappled can pretty much do anything they want except move. In that respect the person in control of the grapple has fewer options available than the person grappled does.

Cheliax

Up to the point that they have to maintain as a standard action. If you have greater grapple, maneuver master monk, or something else where you can maintain your grapple outside of your standard action, you can do whatever is allowed from just having the grappled condition.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules Subscriber

I agree, but the OP didn't have any of those mentioned and stated they were confused with grappling rules (seemingly the base rules being mentioned). My response was limited to the points in question by the OP.

Sczarni

Technically speaking the grappler has the same options his target does as far as actions are concerned. I see what you're saying, though, in that the grappler needs to expend their standard action to maintain and therefor cannot act otherwise.

They could always take the -20 to their grapple check and do whatever they want though! Cause it's always a great idea... :P

Andoran

Corren28 wrote:
They could always take the -20 to their grapple check and do whatever they want though! Cause it's always a great idea... :P

Where did you get that option from? If you are extrapolating it from the GRAB ability, it's incorrect.

Sczarni

Yes, I was extrapolating it from the Grab ability. I was being facetious. My apologies for not clarifying.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Grappling in Pathfinder All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.