Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Druid and his AC.


Rules Questions


Starting up a Druid (of a Long lived race) and it's a replacement char, so he starts at level 8.
My DM had a question that i had no ready answer for, does an AC age like normal animals ? (and then die of old age)
To me it seems that the Nature Bond grants a lot of "magical" stuff to the AC, increased stats, skills and feats and size change, it's not a big stretch to imagine it gives it an extended life span is it ?

What Alignment does an AC have ?
Base animal (think most animals are neutral) or does it follow the Druids alignment ?
This has an effect when you encounter enemies that can use some for of Smite (paladin or Anti-paladin, casters with celestial or fiendish summoned creatures, and various alignment based spells (chaos bolt F.ex.))
and if your AC can wear an Amulet of mighty fists with a holy OR unholy enchant (if the animal is neutral it COULD wear an AoMF with BOTH holy and unholy, and not get any negative lvls from it)


I would say, yes they age normally. It's part of the natural order that things die after a certain time.
The size change at 4th or 7th level is not magical, it's more showing that the baby tiger now finally grew up into an adult one. At this point it crosses the threshhold from a big medium size animal into a small large size one.

Alignment: It's still an animal, and animals are "Always neutral" unless otherwise stated in their entry. Nowhere does it suggest that ACs have a different alignment, so they'd be N.

You're right it should be able to wear an amulet with Holy and Unholy at the same time. I'd be tempted to veto it as a GM though, but as a druid it makes some sense even.


Greetings, fellow traveller.

From what I gleaned from the rules, the AC continues to age as normal, thus would need replacement every now and then.

Since standard ACs lack intelligence to make willful decisions or develop any kind of moral standards, I'd rule alignment is based on the beastiary entry, thus it would be N.

Ruyan.


Pathfinder Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It seems very dubious a weapon would be aligned evil and good at the same time...
"This power makes the weapon xxxx-aligned...": a weapon has only one alignement, not two.

Qadira

An AC ages only as long as its stats don't change. No full sized Roc companions :)


yeah, was what i expected to read tbh =)

Defrater, unlike Bane, and things like Flame weapon enchants that the rules say you can NOT have two flame enchants on the same weapon, Holy and Unholy is not the same, there are no Rules that states you can't do it, plenty of "logical and Role Playing" house rules though.

Then again, it's a druid, he's got a neutral alignment, he looks at society and see all Evil And Good as a perversion of what nature and life should be like, and he wants to eradicate those perversions, using a weapon that is very effective against good and Evil, well, he's a greedy bugger and he likes his scythe.

But Thanks to everyone for the helpful answers =)


you don't have to have the same animal companion your entire career, you can change them out once a week if you wanted to


Animals act by instinct. Thus, they are True Neutral alignment. Now, once you give it a few points of intellect, well, it can develop an ethical system if it wants.

PS - I've also seen the idea that animals and similar creatures are given an 'unaligned' or 'instinctual' alignment and are completely agnostic to any of the bane/holy/Circle of Protection/etc abilities. They can't use them or be affected by them.


Pathfinder Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Mucronis wrote:

yeah, was what i expected to read tbh =)

Defrater, unlike Bane, and things like Flame weapon enchants that the rules say you can NOT have two flame enchants on the same weapon, Holy and Unholy is not the same, there are no Rules that states you can't do it, plenty of "logical and Role Playing" house rules though.

Then again, it's a druid, he's got a neutral alignment, he looks at society and see all Evil And Good as a perversion of what nature and life should be like, and he wants to eradicate those perversions, using a weapon that is very effective against good and Evil, well, he's a greedy bugger and he likes his scythe.

But Thanks to everyone for the helpful answers =)

It's in rules if you read these.

Unholy: An unholy weapon is imbued with unholy power. This power makes the weapon evil-aligned and thus bypasses the corresponding damage reduction....
Holy: A holy weapon is imbued with holy power. This power makes the weapon good-aligned and thus bypasses the corresponding damage reduction.
An item may have an alignment as creature.
Explain me how a weapon can have 2 alignments?
Effectively, there is nothing in the rule that say "you cannot have 2 alignment in the same time."
But every one agree that noone can be evil and good at the same time. Obviousness.
It is not because it is "not in the rule" that it allows you to do what you want or wish.


I think the flavor difference is that for a non-sentient weapon, alignment is basically a "taint" of extraplanar power - much like how good/evil spells work. It's more a measure of the power types involved than an actual moral question (look at the bazillion of threads on alignment and spells). For living creatures, alignment is heavily based on actions and on a scale from good to evil. For other things such as spells or items, it might be less of a scale and more of a checklist.

I'm not sure if a weapon can have several alignments and I agree that it seems a bit weird to have them, but it can be explained away flavorwise.


Pathfinder Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It is not a "moral" question, just a rule question. You can or not.

Another problem is when you enchant the item, you put the abilities one after the other, so the first makes the item good (or evil) and when you enchant a second time you change the item alignment to the opposite. What becomes the first power?
Alignments do not "stack".
It's a case "not written" in rules because i don't think the creator had thought someone will have this "curious idea".

For me, it's just another try to "exploit the rules".


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

You are making the enchantment much more complicated than it is.


You misunderstood me.

If it's just a rule question, yes, you can have both holy and unholy on the same weapons. There's no rule that prohibits a weapon from being both good-aligned and evil-aligned at the same time.

The way you asked the question ("explain to me how a weapon can have 2 alignments?") seemed to me to be a question of "how does that make sense?", that's why my answer was the way it was. And I didn't mean it as a "moral" question, I meant that when it comes to sentient creatures, alignment is a function of morald. When it comes to, for example, spells, they are not in the same related - this could be extrapolated to also include items.

But for the answer on RAW - yes, a weapon can be both good-aligned and evil-aligned at the same time. I don't know how to answer the question "how" more than "for example, by having both holy and unholy enchantments". Why ask how when you yourself explain how?

Note that it does not say "the weapons alignment becomes good", but rather that it is good-aligned - while these may seem the same thing, in other cases where sentient creatures are referred to, they explicitly state "alignment becomes X" rather than "x-aligned".

And this isn't really corner-case; having a "weapon of balance" that kills both good and evil is almost a trope by now, being featured in at least a halfdozen games or so.


Oh lookie lookie herie herie

EDIT: And more on alignment on creatures vs nonsentients here


Pathfinder Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Ilja wrote:
Note that it does not say "the weapons alignment becomes good", but rather that it is good-aligned - while these may seem the same thing, in other cases where sentient creatures are referred to, they explicitly state "alignment becomes X" rather than "x-aligned".

Ok, now i understand. :-) Thanks Ilja!

I'm too used to fight against some of my players who always search to get round the rules or abuse of them.
I find that tiring.
It's me this time that have made a mistake... ;-)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Druid and his AC. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.